Blueberry White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Goodbye Starbucks in West Village (and hello Gold Card).

Goodbye lady who wrote “Honey” on my iced coffee cup instead of “Hannah.”

Goodbye low-talking barista who has to say everything 3 times…to everyone…followed by, “Sorry, I know I talk softly.”  THEN TALK LOUDER.

photo 1-1

photo 2

Goodbye multi-colored pens, hot pink post-it notes, and practice question sets that hold an absurd power over my mood for the day.

Goodbye 5:15am wake up call.

photo 2-1

Goodbye “Epic Film Scores.”  “Classical for Studying.”  “Strictly Piano.”   (and thank you Songza.)

Goodbye stiff knees from sitting for 12 hours and callus on my middle finger where my pen rests.

photo 1
Goodbye everyone who asks me, “Ooooh what are you studying?” and then gets confused when I don’t know how to answer, because the answer is “all the things.”  Goodbye all the 3rd years, 4th years, and doctors who gave me sympathetic head nods.

Goodbye Step 1 (almost (until I get my score (which you’ll only be able to decipher by the amount of bourbon I drink))).

photo 3-1
Hello beach.

Blueberry White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes 12-15 cookies

Instructions:
6 TBS unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
1 cup plus 1 TBS unbleached all-purpose flour
1 cup white chocolate chips
1/2 pint fresh blueberries

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 325F with a rack in the middle position.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
2. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together the butter and sugar on medium speed for 1 minute.  Beat in the vanilla and the egg.  On low speed, beat in the baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
3. With a rubber spatula, stir in the flour.  Before it’s fully incorporated, stir in the white chocolate chips.  Gently fold in the blueberries.  Cover the bowl and refrigerate the dough for about an hour.
4. Using a medium cookie scoop or a large soup spoon, scoop the dough onto the cookie sheet, placing them about 1 1/2 inches apart.  Bake for 13-16 minutes, until the tops are just dry and lightly golden.  Let cookies cool on sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.  Cookies get pretty soft if you store them in a covered container, but they’ll keep well!

photo 3

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

 

8 comments

    1. I think they would work fine! I would just recommend thawing them and patting them dry first…otherwise they could add some extra liquid which would mess up the consistency of the dough. Let us know!
      ~ h

  1. finally found a blue berry cookie recipe, and i must say it was delicious i cut back on the sugar and its still very sweet. But they are my fav cookies now

  2. Just searched for a recipe to try while taking a step 2 study break. I’ve never read your blog before, but as I was reading this post I thought, “Wonder if she knows what studying for a usmle exam is like.” I hope you enjoyed that beach and the start of your third year!

  3. Having gone through Step1-3, I appreciate the beauty of these cookies. I’ve been looking for a great blueberry/white choc cookie recipe…Can’t wait to make them!!

Leave a comment