Savory Pumpkin Scones

It’s Thanksgiving! On the one hand, thank GOODNESS because it’s my favorite holiday (I think) and no one is allowed to interview me for residency on Thanksgiving. On the other hand, it’s Thanksgiving??? Allow me to digress for just a hot second into the whole clichéd I-can’t-believe-it’s-already-almost-December thing.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
I can’t believe it’s already almost December. Where did this year go? (Away.) What have I been doing with my life? (Lots of things.) What am I gonna get all the people for all the various holidays? (HELP.) How am I (slash how are we, as Kate and I share a birthday month) already almost TWENTY SEVEN? (Passage of time and it’s what comes after 26.)

Ok done.

So. Thanksgiving. Food time. For me, side dish time. Stuffing is like all I want to eat, ever. With a side of mashed potatoes. (Which we are making with roasted garlic this year, because it’s the new browned butter, and should be eaten on everything.) This is also one of my favorite holidays because of all the sage. I dunno what it is about sage, but I cannot. Get. Enough. And I’m not sure why I forget about it during the rest of the year? It would make me so happy to have some random sage in say, April. But I forget that it exists.

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

One of the perfect places for sage is in these pumpkin scones. They’re savory. Not even a little sugar. I would say that means they aren’t for breakfast, but who are we kidding? Slide a fried egg in the middle of one of these and that’s the breakfast of my dreams. In these scones, I combined pumpkin (for extra pretty color and moist-ness and fall-ness) with fresh sage, goat cheese (because always cheese), some coarse black pepper, and a liiiiitle bit of smoked paprika because I cannot get enough of that either.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Smoked paprika and sage is where it’s at. Are where it’s at? Are where they’re at? None of those probably. Look. Blog posts are not always the place for my grammar skills to shine.

Go forth and make some savory scones for your Thanksgiving! Or for your post-Thanksgiving pre-shopping breakfast! Or for dinner next Wednesday. That works too.

Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset

Savory Pumpkin Scones

Ingredients:
2 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp baking soda
¾ tsp salt
¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper
½ tsp smoked paprika
¼ tsp paprika
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour, plus extra for surface
2 TBS fresh chopped sage
¾ cup (= 1 ½ sticks) unsalted butter, cut into ¼ inch pieces and chilled
1 large egg
½ cup canned pumpkin puree
¼ cup whole milk (can also use buttermilk), plus extra for brushing tops of scones
4 oz goat cheese, crumbled

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients and all spices until combined. Stir in the sage.
    2. In a small bowl or large glass measuring cup, beat together the egg, pumpkin, and whole milk with a fork. Set aside.
    3. Add the chilled butter pieces to the dry ingredients. Using a pastry cutter (my favorite), a fork, or two knives combine the butter with the dry ingredients until roughly pea-sized clumps remain. Add the pumpkin mixture and the goat cheese crumbles and toss gently with a fork, just until the dry ingredients are moistened and a cohesive dough has formed.
    4. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface. Gently shape it into a circle that is 1 ½ inches thick. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and freeze until firm, about 30 minutes. (I ended up leaving my dough in the freezer for about an hour, and it worked fine.)
    5. Preheat the oven to 400F with a rack in the middle position. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Here you have a couple of choices for shaping your scones. To make 8 large scones, use a sharp kitchen knife to divide the circle of dough into wedges. To make about 14 smaller scones, use a round biscuit cutter like I did. Delicious either way!
    6. Place the scones about 1 to 1 ½ inches apart on the prepared baking sheet. Brush the tops of the scones with whole milk (or buttermilk). Bake until the tops are dry and golden brown, about 25-30 minutes for large scones and 15-20 minutes for small scones. Serve warm or at room temperature. Scones will keep wrapped airtight for about 2 days, or wrapped well in the freezer for up to 1 month.

Recipe based on this recipe from Bon Appetit.

Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset

Thanks for reading! Happy baking and happy Thanksgiving! Hope it is filled with safe travels, time with family and friends, good food, and warm fireplaces.

One comment

Leave a Reply

