Cranberry Biscuitscones

Hannah and I were talking recently and we came to this conclusion:

Adult life is baloney (bologna?).

Except, if we’re being honest, our version was maybe less PG, more PG-13.

Here’s what we mean: things just… keep happening in adult life.

IMG_20131125_183000

Like I wake up and go to work on Monday morning and then look up and its been two weeks.

(Or I see Hannah posted something on the blog yesterday and then I look up and it’s been over two weeks. Sorry.).

IMG_20131125_190034

Does it always feel this way?!

Why don’t thing stop happening when I don’t have time to deal with them? Like, I have to bill 12 hours today so I don’t have time to buy groceries. Why can’t my food understand that and not go bad until the next day??

IMG_20131125_190143

Or why can’t the trash just not start to smell until I have time to take it out?

Why does it now take like three years to find a day that both Hannah and I are free to get froyo or even maybe a whole meal of food together?!?!

IMG_20131125_192449

Basically, what I’m saying is: Until tonight, I hadn’t baked anything since the last time I posted. And I hadn’t even realized how long that had been (which was totally depressing when I did realize it).


Then I baked these because I know how to make biscuits and I know that I love cranberries and yum.

Cranberry Biscuits/Scones

Ingredients

3 cups all-purpose flour
3 tbsp granulated sugar
4 1/2 tsps baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cold, cut into small cubes
1 large egg
3/4 cup buttermilk, cold
1 cup fresh cranberries, coarsely chopped

raw sugar for sprinkling

Directions 

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F. 
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. 
  3. Work butter cubes in with your fingers. You want the mixture to look like coarse meal (pieces of butter will be the size of peas or oats). Work as quickly as you can; you don’t want the butter to start melting until you put them in the oven.
  4. Whisk together the buttermilk and egg. Stir the cranberries into the dry ingredients. Make a well in the dry ingredient mixture. 
  5. Pour in the buttermilk mixture, all at once. Stir until a shaggy dough forms. But don’t overwork it. You want to err on the side of unmixed.
  6. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead together a few times and form into a 8x12ish rectangle. Cut into 9 rectangles. 
  7. Move the rectangles to a baking sheet. Sprinkle with raw sugar. 
  8. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the biscuit/scones are browned and firm in the middle. 

Recipe adapted from Joy the Baker

These aren’t very sweet since they’re a buttermilk biscuit base. If you want to up the sweetness, you can use cream instead and add another tablespoon of sugar. 

Cranberry scones and cranberry dranks. All cranberry errything.

Cranberry scones and cranberry dranks. All cranberry errything.

Happy early Thanksgiving! Bake with love!!

Leave a comment