Raspberry Pecan Blondies

Oof.  We are nearly 2 months into intern year, and I can’t believe it.

Passage of time, y’all.  It’s a real thing.  Most days of this job are pretty fantastic.  I’m surrounded by incredibly intelligent people who all know more than me about medicine.  I’ve met some amazing patients who I want to keep visiting every day even when I’m not on their service anymore.  Half of my patients so far have been babies who don’t know who I am and don’t care because I’m not the person who feeds them, but that’s fine.  

Most days of this job are also pretty difficult.  I don’t make a single decision or place a single order without second guessing myself (should they have gotten 10mg/kg or 15mg/kg of tylenol aaaaaagghhhhhhhhhhhh (it doesn’t really matter)).  There are about 176 thousand million things I’m supposed to remember to do or say or think about everyday, and despite spending a lot of hours every day doing those things…I still forget to do some of them.

DSC_0167

Sometimes going to work for all the days in a row is less than ideal.  I can usually get to the gym or errands after work if i try but…If I sit down when I get home from work that is absolutely THE END of the day.  There will be no gym after that.  No washing of dishes or putting away of laundry.  Dinner only happens because my kitchen is so close to my sofa.  And it will only happen if I don’t fall asleep first.

Don’t let our complaining fool you though.  It’s fun to be a doctor who can make things happen (read: can sign orders) after all those years of being a student bystander.

DSC_0169

2 months down.  ONLY 10 TO GO but who’s counting?

Also I made some blondies.  With the raspberries I picked with my own two hands.  My family has actually been making this recipe during the summer for many many years, so I thought I would bring the tradition up to Michigan!

Raspberry Pecan Blondies

Makes 12-16 blondies (one 9×9 pan)

Ingredients: 
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups light brown sugar, lightly packed
3/4 cups (=1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temp
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup coarsely chopped pecans, lightly toasted
2 cups (about 1 pint) fresh raspberries

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F with a rack in the middle position.  Butter and flour a 9×9″ pan and set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, whisk together baking powder, baking soda, salt, and flour.  Set aside.
3. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and brown sugar on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Beat in the eggs one at a time.  Beat in the vanilla extract.
4. Add the flour mixture and beat on low (or mix in by hand) until just combined.  Stir in the pecans.  Gently fold in about 2/3 cup raspberries.
5. Spread the batter evenly in the prepared pan.  Distribute the rest of the raspberries over the top and press down lightly.
6. Bake for 35-45 minutes, until the top is dry and golden brown.  Let cool completely on a wire rack before slicing (can also chill in the fridge overnight before slicing).  Blondies will keep, tightly wrapped, at room temperature for 2 days.

Recipe adapted from Bon Appetit

DSC_0162

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

4 comments

  1. i’ve definitely romanticized being a doctor from watching grey’s anatomy (even though my mom has repeatedly corrected me), so it’s interesting to hear what it’s actually like. and these blondies- i have way too many blondie recipes bookmarked, but i still want these.

    1. Hi Heather – blondies are addictive. You can never have too many blondie recipes! Thanks for reading 🙂 -H

Leave a Reply

