Chocolate Whisky Bundt Cake with PB Glaze and Chocolate-Covered Potato Chips

Whew. What a title, right?!

I made this cake for my old Roomz and another good friend from law school after they reminded me that it had been a really long time since they had eaten anything “Kate baked.” So, like, maybe I went overboard trying to impress them is what I’m trying to say…

Isn’t it weird how things happen like that, though? You spend three years seeing a person every day and sharing fridge space and borrowing eggs and telling each other to “PLEASE EAT SOME OF THOSE COOKIES SO I DON’T EAT THREE DOZEN BY MYSELF.” And then, one day, you stop doing that. And suddenly, it’s been six months since your old Roomz has eaten anything you’ve baked.

Ugh, change. Amirite?!

This period of my life has been pretty much constant change:

  1. Moving to a new(ish) city.
  2. Also a new apartment.
  3. Starting a job for real.
  4. Being financially independent.
  5. Feeling like I’ve been hit by a train if I had more than two drinks the night before.

Lots of new things. Lots of challenges I didn’t even understand were coming.

IMG_20140304_185658

Some things don’t change, though. Like having two handles of Jack in your apt.

BUT. Change is pretty cool in that not all of it is bad.  For example:

  1. Moving to a new(ish) city means that I get to see my best friend, Hannah, at least twice a week. I had a terrible day on Friday and I got through it because I knew I had plans to hate-watch The Bachelor and drink Old Fashioneds with my best friend that night. Which is just the best motivator to slog through a bad day.
  2. Moving into a new apartment meant that I got to stop not living in the same place as my favorite boyfriend, The Accountant. Like…that’s pretty cool and okay with me.
IMG_20140304_191417

Or like flannel, and slippers, and only baking when the light is terrible.

3. Starting a job for real means that I get to be constantly challenged by new things. Which I’ve heard is something that smart, accomplished people like. So I’m going to say that I like it too. Also, it means that I get a PAYCHECK. Which leads to…

4. Being financially independent is scary and kind of stressful. But it also means that I don’t have to feel guilty about every new sweater I buy or the three thousand kinds of snack food I bought at Trader Joe’s or the fact that I offered to buy my friends’ drinks that night. Because the money is mine and not someone else’s. And yes, there is a limited supply of it… but the fun thing about a job is that it produces a less limited supply of money than loans do. Also I don’t have to pay this money back. So: WIN.

IMG_20140304_202259

5. This one isn’t fun. It constantly reminds me that I’m no longer young and stupid. BOOOO.

IMG_20140304_212932

Since I apparently can’t hold my liquor anymore, I bake it into things. Seems like a decent trade-off.

Chocolate Whisky Bundt with Peanut Butter Glaze and Chocolate-Covered Potato Chips

Makes one 12-cup bundt

Ingredients

Cake

2 cups granulated sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup dark or dutch-processed cocoa powder, sifted
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup whole buttermilk
2 large eggs
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 teaspoons vanilla
2/3 cup warm water
1/3 cup decent quality Tennessee whiskey or bourbon
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks

Glaze

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
1 tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1-2 tbsp milk

Chips
1/2 cup potato chips (I think ruffled ones are better for this, but use whichever you want!)
1/2 cup chocolate (I used semi-sweet, but use your favorite kind)

Directions

  1. Butter and flour a bundt pan. Set aside. Preheat your oven to 350°F.
  2. In large bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add eggs, buttermilk, butter, and vanilla. Mix together until some dry ingredients are still untouched. So the moment right before the ingredients would be “just combined.”
  3. Add whisky and warm water and stir until just combined. Then gently fold in the chocolate chunks.
  4. Pour into prepared pan and bake 50-55 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool in pan on wire rack.
  5. While your cake is baking/cooling, you can put together your glaze and potato chips! For the glaze, place peanut butter and butter together in a small bowl. Microwave for 20 seconds. Mix PB and butter together. Then add powdered sugar and milk. Mix until combined. If you want it to be more glaze-y, add more milk until you reach the consistency you want
  6. For the chocolate covered chips, melt chocolate over a double-boiler. Dip chips into chocolate. Set on aluminum foil to cool and harden.  (Easiest snack ever)
  7. Once your cake is cool (you want the pan to be cool to the touch. Otherwise your cake may not come out in one piece), flip it out onto your serving dish. Then cover with your glaze. Top with potato chips.
  8. Slice and enjoy!

Cake recipe adapted from Love and Olive Oil. The rest is from my brain.

IMG_20140304_213046

 

I still have some of this cake in my kitchen and I haven’t eaten yet today. Guess what breakfast is?!

Adulthood is THE BEST.

Bake with love!!

Leave a Reply

