Blood Orange Quick Bread

What’s funny is that everyday for the past month I’ve said, “Yeah but TODAY I’m gonna write a blog post.”  And then everyday there’s all the studying, and the working out, and the errands, and the Bachelor…and then it’s bedtime.

And now here we are.  In February.  I can count on NO hands the number of posts I’ve written since December.  Because it’s zero.  And because I’m the worst.Currently I’m watching the Super Bowl post-game coverage, which is far more exciting than the actual game was because it mainly features Seahawks players holding their tiny children who are all decked out in Seattle gear.

orange bread 2

This weekend Kate and I were together in Austin!  Our time was divided approximately as such: 40% eating (and at LEAST half of that time was spent eating queso or wishing we had queso to eat), 30% drinking (barrel-aged sazeracs and shots of whiskey FTW), 20% singing karaoke, and 10% watching Zac Efron or Juan Pablo.  So…all in all, an ideal weekend.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I am now stuck in Waco for a month.  Well, really 3 more weeks.  I’m here for a family medicine rotation, and everyone at work is suuuuper nice and the patients are pretty great.  But then I leave work and I’m just…in Waco.  Basically all I do is study, workout, and sleep…which I think is all I’m supposed to be doing when I’m in Dallas, but that just doesn’t work out.  Either way, I better go home smarter, fitter, and more rested or this will have been a TOTAL bust.

I made this quick bread for my teammates and residents on my neurology rotation last month.  It was a hit!  I had high hopes for a pretty pink blood orange glaze, but then I went to sleep instead of making it.  You should make some glaze though.  Be a better glazer than me!

orange bread

Blood Orange Quick Bread

Makes one 9×5 inch loaf

Ingredients:
4-5 blood oranges – zested for 1 TBS zest, then juiced for 3/4 cup juice
3/4 cup sour cream
1 TBS vanilla extract
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
2 large eggs

For crumb topping
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 cup light brown sugar
2 TBS granulated sugar
pinch of salt
6 TBS unsalted butter, melted

Directions:
1. For crumb topping – stir together all dry ingredients in a small bowl.  Add the melted butter and toss with a fork until clumps form.  Set aside.
2. For quick bread – Preheat oven to 350F with a rack in the middle position.  Butter and flour a 9x5inch loaf pan.  3. In a small bowl, stir together the orange juice, sour cream, and vanilla extract.  Set aside.
4. In another bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.
5. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the sugar and orange zest.  Incorporate the zest by rubbing together the zest and sugar with your fingers until fragrant.  This gets all the orange flavor in there!  Add the room temperature butter and mix on medium speed until fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Add eggs one at a time, mixing on medium speed.
6. Alternately add the flour mixture in 3 additions and the sour cream mixture in 2 additions (begin and end with the flour), mixing on low speed until ingredients are just incorporated, scraping down sides of the bowl between additions.  Transfer the batter to prepared pan.
7. Top the batter evenly with the crumb mixture.  Bake for 50-55 minutes until a thin knife or cake tester inserted in the middle of the loaf comes out clean.  Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.  Bread will keep wrapped tightly at room temperature for 3 days.

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

One comment

Leave a Reply

