Oatmeal Raisin Blondies with Apple Butter Swirl

So Kate started her real life recently.  Meanwhile, I started my pretend real life.  This is the time when medical students go from study-study-study in the 1st 2 years to…work-work-study-study in the 3rd year.  We get to pretend to be doctors and most days it’s the best.

For the past 6 weeks, I’ve been pretending to be an ob/gyn.  There have been babies.  There have been ladies (like, all ladies obvs).  There have been…other things involved in ob/gyn that we don’t need to talk about.  It’s been preeetttyyy awesome.

photo 4

The MOST awesome was when a patient who came in to deliver her baby spoke only French.  Yes.  All those people who laugh at me when I say to call me when a French-speaking patient appears in north Texas can suck it.  Because you know what?  They called me.  (I make this sound official.  What really happened is my teammate said, “Man my patient speaks French,” and I just about had a heart attack.)

I had to look up some words.  I don’t know about you, but my language classes never involved the lesson, “how to help someone deliver a baby.”  But now I know, and next time (there won’t be a next time) I’ll be so prepared!

photo 2-1

Usually as 3rd year med students we don’t feel like we’re the most…integral in patient care.  We’re super good at writing down things patients say, and at running errands for people, and at doing what our residents tell us to but…when it comes to decision-making, we like a certain je ne sais quoi.  (Actually I know exactly what, it’s called knowledge and experience. )    But I actually felt a little bit necessary in taking care of this lady.  Plus I feel like it was nice for her to be able to understand someone when she’s pushing out a baby.

photo 1-1

Anyways.  It was up there in the top experiences of med school.  Like, waaay up there.  Immediately after that I returned to unglamorously struggling through my 10-word (but expanding!) medical spanish vocabulary, so no danger of me thinking I’m too helpful or anything.

photo 3

I can be helpful in the kitchen however.  I made these blondies and I’m kind of proud of them.  Apparently it’s “fall” in the rest of the country.  In Texas we haven’t really experienced this yet, but I feel like if we buy lots of squash and pumpkins and apples, it will come a little sooner.  If you’re super ambitious and live somewhere where there’s a surplus of apples, feel free to make your own apple butter!  Then send some to us.

photo 1-2

Oatmeal Raisin Blondies with Apple Butter Swirl

Makes one 9×9-inch pan, 12-16 blondies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup (= 1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of salt
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour (reserve about 1 tsp to toss with the raisins)
1/4 cup oats
1/2 cup raisins (I used regular-type, whatever those are called, but golden raisins would be great!), tossed with the tsp of flour
1/3 cup apple butter

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F with a rack in the middle position.  Grease an 8×8 or 9×9 pan and set aside.
2. In a large bowl, stir together the melted butter and both sugars until combined.  Mix in the egg, then stir in the vanilla extract.
3.  Mix in the baking soda and salt.  Add the flour and oats and stir just until you can still see some flour.  Gently stir in the raisins.
4.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan and spread to the corners.  Spoon the apple butter over the batter and use a thin knife to swirl it into the batter.
5.  Bake the blondes for 25-30 minutes or until the top is dry and the edges are golden brown.  Let cool completely in the pan on a rack.  Don’t slice until completely cool!  Blondies will keep wrapped up at room temperature for 4 days.

photo 2-2

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

Leave a Reply

