Salted Caramel Pretzel Ice Cream

Today (and pretty much every day of my life lately) I settled into a booth at a coffee shop to feel increasingly bad about my intelligence study. (Like, I get that the Sample Answers to these practice questions are written by professionals with unlimited time and also access to law books. But also, it feels super terrible to miss half of what the Sample Answer brings up. So THANKS.)

Over the next few hours, I couldn’t believe people around me. They had the audacity to live and breathe and interact in my presence. What’s that even about?! I’M STUDYING OVER HERE.

So basically, today I realized that studying makes me a jerk. Mostly in my head, but maybe also in real life too. (Feel free to confirm or deny, people who have to interact with me).

IMG_20130614_221817

Like hello I’m sitting over here in this booth and I don’t understand why you feel entitled to bring your child into a public place and let them cry. Can you tell your baby to please be quiet? kthx.

Oh, you came to a coffee shop– a recognized meeting place– to talk to your business partner about future plans/to meet with an old friend to catch up/to be friendly and talk to the barista as they make your drink? Could you maybe not? You’re being really selfish. I’m trying to read through this outline and I’d appreciate it if you were just maybe silent. Thanks.

IMG_20130614_225925

Hey. You just coughed. Like it was the first sound you made since you sat down an hour ago, and how rude of you to remind me of your presence. Hold your breath if you’re going to sit in this room. Kisses!

Basically that’s what goes on in my head right now in public places. I don’t understand why everyone doesn’t know that I’m studying for the bar and it’s hard and please anticipate my needs and ignore your own. It’s the only human, normal thing to do. While you’re up and being silent, bring me a cupcake? You’re a doll! (Though maybe next time if you could do it before I have to ask?)

IMG_20130615_121836

Maybe this is a sign that I should become a hermit for the next 11 days?

Salted Caramel Pretzel Ice Cream

Makes 1 1/2-2 pts 

Ingredients 
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
2 egg yolks
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup salted caramel
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate
1 cup mini pretzels

Directions

  1. Stir together milk, cream, and 1/4 cup of sugar in a pan over low heat. Whisk occasionally until it reaches about 175°F.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together yolks, remaining sugar, vanilla. Now you’re going to temper the eggs so they don’t scramble when you add them to the milk. Add 1/4 cup of the milk mixture, whisking constantly as you add.  Repeat this step until you’ve added about 1 1/2 cups of the milk mixture to the egg mixture. Now the eggs are warm enough that they won’t freak out if you add them into the warm milk. Add the egg/milk mix to the remaining milk and return to the stove top. Cook over low heat until it reaches about 185°F and begins to thicken. Don’t let it boil.
  3. Strain, discard the solids, and move to a metal bowl. Cover and refrigerate to 40°F, about three hours.
  4. While that’s happening, make your chocolate covered pretzels. Melt chocolate (even over a double boiler or in the microwave. Pick your poison). Then stir in your pretzels. Lay flat on a cookie sheet (cover with foil to make clean up WAY easier). Put in the freezer for a bit to harden. Once they’re hardened, take them out, put them in a ziploc bag and break them into smaller pieces.
  5. Pour custard into your ice cream maker and have at it. Once the ice cream begins to come together (like really mostly ice cream in there) and there are about 2-3 minutes left before it hardens totally, add pretzels a little at a time. Then drop in salted caramel by the tablespoon. Process for another 2 ish minutes. Scoop into containers and freeze.

Recipe inspired by Chef Chloe and trashed up by me and Recipe of the Week: Ice Cream

IMG_20130630_191535

I’ll be waiting (not so) patiently in my apartment for someone to bring a pint of this (and maybe some chocolate cake) over. I mean… I’m studying for the bar. I deserve it.

Ignore my stress-induced entitlement and bake with love!!

Leave a Reply

