Lemon-Thyme Scones with Plum Jam

Oh.  So one time, I made scones a full WEEK before Valentine’s day so that I could post them in time for you to make the perfect breakfast for your love!!!  They were even semi heart-shaped, and full of red jam, and I planned them out for at LEAST 4 days.  I was so on top of my game.photo 4

SO on top of my game in fact, that I am posting the recipe precisely 6 days after February 14th.  I even told Kate 2 weeks ago, do NOT post, I am going to post SOON, so just HOLD YOUR HORSES (really it was much less emphatic and mean).  And then a few days later Kate wised up and was like, “oh heyyy slacker, you didn’t post that thing so I’ll post this amazeballs cake.”  Or something to that effect.  (Less mean also.)

Anyways, 2 important things happened that prevented me from posting that recipe.  (Really 3 including some exam, but I said important.)

photo 5

1. I went to New Orleans for Mardi Gras.  And the Saturday we were there, my friends and I were the VERY FIRST PEOPLE at Pat O’s at 10am.  Aka, everyone else in the city was pulling a lame one.  I caught a lot of beads and saw Kelly Clarkson at Endymion and Mark Ingram and Steve Gleason at Bacchus.  I drank a large margarita from Superior Grill on St. Charles, I ate delicious crawfish pasta made by my loving aunt, and I danced around at what amounts to the world’s biggest, longest, most awesome block party.

photo 2

2. Ugh.  The nerdiness.  I feel it kind of creeping up my throat like word vomit in Mean Girls, but this is nerd vomit.  I started reading this book called “The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat.”  It’s by a neurologist, and he talks about all these cases he’s seen.  And the first one…is literally a man who mistakes his wife for a hat.  I’m not trying to simplify things here.  The doctor says, “Hey guy put your hat on,” and the patient tries to pick up his wife’s head.  What is even going ON in the human brain?!?!?!  I think basically, no one knows and I LOVE it.  My mind was so blown by this that I was – somewhat inexplicably –  incapacitated from blog-post-writing.

photo 3

Unrelated, I bought a pack of those mega-stuffed Oreos?  To bake with, obvs.  And I said, oh I’ll just open it and see what we’re working with here.  And then I ate 3.

So back to these scones.  They’re made with some cake flour, which makes them so dreamy and soft.  I filled them with a plum-lemon-thyme jam that I got as a gift.  It had just been waiting in my pantry for the perfect moment, and this was it!  I added a little lemon and thyme to the scones directly, so you could really get that flavor combo, which was so springy and fresh.  I meant for them to be shaped like hearts (see above), but a) they kind of weren’t, and b) you could totes just make them as circles.

photo 7

Lemon-Thyme Scones with Plum Jam

Makes about 12 scones

Ingredients:
1 cup unbleached, all-purpose flour
1 cup + 2 TBS cake flour
1 TBS baking powder
4 TBS granulated sugar
zest of 1 small to medium lemon
1 1/2 tsp chopped fresh thyme
1/2 tsp salt
5 TBS unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes and chilled
1 cup heavy cream (buttermilk might be good too, but I haven’t tried it yet)

about 1/3 cup + 2 tsp red plum jam
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1 TBS milk (or more for desired consistency)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 425F with a rack in the middle position.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
2. Combine both flours, baking powder, granulated sugar, lemon zest, thyme, and salt in the bowl of a food processor.  With the metal blade attached, process the dry ingredients for about 6 seconds.  (If mixing by hand, put dry ingredients in a bowl and whisk together.)
3. Add the chilled butter to the food processor and pulse 12 brief pulses until mixture is crumbly.  Pour mixture into a large bowl.  (If mixing by hand, cut chilled butter into dry ingredients with 2 knives.)
4. Using a rubber spatula, gently stir in the heavy cream just until the dry ingredients are moistened.  Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and bring it together with your hands, kneading just until it sticks together (no more than 20 seconds).  Roll the dough out to 3/4-inch thickness.
5. With a round biscuit cutter, cut out as many scones if you can.  Using a very thin knife, gently slice each scone in half horizontally, going about 2/3 of the way through.  Spoon about 2 tsp of plum jam into the middle of each scone.  Gently press down the edges of the scones to form a sort of seal.
6.  Place scones on prepared baking sheet 2 inches apart.  Bake scones until light golden on top, about 11-15 minutes.  Transfer the scones to a wire rack to cool.  (If you don’t want to glaze them, you can serve them warm.)
7. While the scones are cooling, stir together the powdered sugar, milk, and 2 tsp jam in a small bowl.  Drizzle the glaze over the cooled scones.

photo 1

Recipe adapted from Baking Illustrated

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

