German Chocolate Ice Cream

Today is my 25th birthday. It feels very weird to actually be 25.

Like, when I was younger, I had a lot of ideas about what it meant to be a 25-year-old. Things that all people accomplish by the time they’re 25. More specifically, all the things I would have accomplished by the time I was 25. And approximately two of them have happened. Give or take.

So here’s my actual first quarter-century by the numbers.

Zero weddings or babies of my own. This is mostly what I was referring to in the beginning of today’s post. Ten-year-old Me  was totally planning on being married with children by age 25. She would be so disappointed.

Also, on that note: Zero vintage cars purchased and/or restored by me. This would be another crushing blow to ten-year-old Me.

Five Hundred and Two boxes of macaroni and cheese cooked and consumed. Well, not all of it was boxed. Like 1/3 was homemade. At least.

IMG_20130109_184515

Three tattoos inked on my skin. Ten-year-old Me would also be totally shocked and appalled by this development. Even more so when she found out I was planning another(!). (Am I rebelling against ten-year-old Me?).

Fifty-three recipes and ridiculous stories posted on this blog. Better yet: One blog about one of my very favorite things that I get to share with my very best friend.

Two instruments learned. And subsequently forgotten.

Nine countries visited. With plans to add another four to that list this summer after I kick the Texas Bar Exam in the butt. I am so grateful I’ve had the opportunity to travel to as many amazing and beautiful places as I have so far. The world is just so cool.

IMG_20130109_185711

Eight Harry Potter midnight movie releases attended. (Ten-year-old me would be very proud.)

Four Thousand gallons of queso consumed. Approximately.

One half-marathon completed. (Ten-year-old Me would think this MUST be a lie. She (Me? We?) HATES running).

Six Ikea fixtures successfully(?) assembled all on my own.

Thirty-two birthday cakes eaten. I mean cakes for my birthday. If we were counting all the cakes I’ve eaten in life that were for anyone’s birthday, that number would be in the hundreds. …what?! I like cake. Only further supported by the fact that I’ve eaten more than one birthday cake of my own for multiple years. (Ten-year-old Me approves).

Thanks and Hook 'Em German Chocolate

Thanks and Hook ‘Em German Chocolate

Too Many and Not Enough Diet Cokes consumed.

One cat of my very own. She might be trying to kill me. But I love her just the same.

Eleven teen lit series I have completed (most of which were read in the past three years… when I was not a teenager).

Eight cavities. I know. Weak enamel + sweet tooth = bad news apparently.

Three graduation ceremonies; One cap and gown worn. Fingers crossed I get add the fourth one this spring (which will also not include a cap and gown)!

Two batches of homemade ice cream made completely and totally by me (and my ice cream maker) (so far).

German Chocolate Ice Cream

Makes 1 1/2-2 pints ish

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
8 ounces german chocolate, chopped (or use semi-sweet like me and add two tablespoons of sugar to the egg/vanilla mix)
2 egg yolks, room temp
1 tsp vanilla
pinch kosher salt
1 cup shredded coconut, toasted
1 cup pecans, toasted and chopped

Directions

  1. Stir together milk, cream, and chocolate in a pan over low heat. Whisk occasionally until it reaches about 175°F.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together yolks, vanilla, and salt. Now you’re going to temper the eggs so they don’t scramble when you add them to the milk. Add 1/4 cup of the milk mixture, whisking constantly as you add.  Repeat this step until you’ve added about 1 1/2 cups of the milk mixture to the egg mixture. Now the eggs are warm enough that they won’t freak out if you add them into the warm milk. Add the egg/milk mix to the remaining milk and return to the stove top. Cook over low heat until it reaches about 185°F and begins to thicken. Don’t let it boil.
  3. Strain, discard the solids, and move to a metal bowl. Cover and refrigerate to 40°F, about three hours.
  4. Pour into your ice cream maker and have at it. Once the ice cream begins to come together and there are about 5 minutes left before it hardens totally, add the pecans and coconut. Process for another 5ish minutes.

Recipe from Recipe of the Week: Ice Cream

IMG_20130118_120044

So, while 10-year-old Me may have been a little off about what my accomplishments would be in my first 25 years, I think they’ve been pretty awesome just the same.

Bake with love!!

Leave a Reply

