White Bean Walnut Parmesan Dip

I made some resolutions.  How unique am I?  I decided to put them in writing here so you can hold me accountable!  This way, I can’t a) pretend I didn’t ACTUALLY make that one resolution, or b) quit.  I don’t want you to think I’m a quitter.  How embarrassing.

Are you ready for them?  They have absolutely zero to do with cleansing and everything to do with being joyful and staying sane.

(This is the 3rd post of ours in a row with a list.  Apologies.  When we write lists, we’re excused from the writing convention known as “transitions.”  Those are hard.)

1. This is the year I stop feeling guilty.  (Well, not entirely.  I mean, if I do something really bad, like rob a bank, I would and should feel guilty.  But there is no time for robbing banks, so we don’t have to worry about that.)  What I really mean is, no more misappropriated guilt.  Not gonna feel guilty when I eat popcorn for dinner (although let’s be honest, I truly have no qualms about doing that).  Not gonna feel guilty when I take a day off from the gym.  Not gonna feel guilty when I spend an hour instead of 30 minutes on a study break looking through recipes I want to make.  Not.  Worth it.

white bean dip 3

This is a resolution where I’ve figured out how to trick myself, mostly on that last one.  If I want to avoid feeling guilty about that time spent not studying, that just means I have to make my time spent working that much more efficient.  See?  See what I did there?

2. 2013 is the year of utilizing all my various sources of recipes!  Cookbooks, bookmarks, pinterest, blogs, recipe binder.  All of them.  For now, I have resolved to make one new recipe (probably mostly cooking, so I can feed myself) per exam block.  Once the semester ends, I’ll take it from there.  I’ve already started!  I made the Mushroom Bourgignon from Smitten Kitchen’s new cookbook and I almost died of happiness from how delicious it was and how accomplished I felt.

white bean dip 1

3. Then there’s a gym resolution, about adding new exercises once a week, and increasing my reps, and blah blah blah but everyone makes those so who cares.

4. This is a big one.  It’s more a continuing thing that I hope never ever ever ends instead of a new resolution.  But.  You guys.  I have made my bed…every morning…since SCHOOL STARTED IN AUGUST.  Literally EVERY MORNING.  It is amazing.  I start out everyday feeling like a BOSS because my bed is made.  And everyday when I come home, I feel like a BOSS because my bed is STILL made.  Guh.  In this one aspect of my life, I am such a grown up.

white bean dip 4

I am resolved!  And excited!  Ready to accomplish this list!  4 things.  I think I can handle that until 2014.  Which is not the year I graduate, but the year before 2015, which IS the year I graduate, which is the year I get married and become a DOCTOR.  Ohmahgah.  Adulthood is coming.

…Still a ways away though.  Now where’s that popcorn dinner?

white bean dip 2

White Bean Walnut Parmesan Dip

I made this for a fancy pants party the Weatherman and I attended last week.  It is so savory and addicting.  I DO wish it were slightly prettier.  If anyone has any ideas of how to make it less…brown-ish…I’m all ears.

Ingredients:
1 15-oz can cannelini beans, drained and rinsed
about 1 cup walnut halves, toasted and cooled slightly
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 cup sour cream (substitutions I considered but haven’t tried yet: light cream cheese, plain greek yogurt)
1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
1/3 cup grated fontina cheese, plus extra for sprinkling
salt and pepper to taste
chopped parsley, for sprinkling

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350F with a rack in the upper position.
2. In a small food processor, process the walnuts until finely chopped.  Add the beans and process until almost smooth.  With the food processor on, slowly add the olive oil.  Process until the dip is the consistency of thick hummus.
3. Transfer the mixture to a medium bowl and stir in both cheeses and the sour cream.  Add salt and pepper to taste.
4. Transfer the dip to a large ramekin or other oven-safe serving dish.  Sprinkle the extra fontina on top.  Bake the dip for 15-20 minutes, until it’s bubbling and the top is lightly browned.  Sprinkle chopped parsley over the dip and serve almost immediately.  I served it with pita chips, but veggies or any other dip-vehicle you like would be great!

Recipe from my brain and my many years of dip-eating experience.

Thanks for reading, happy baking and resolution-keeping!

 

Leave a Reply

