Coconut Bundt Cake

 

I’ve recently realized that I do this thing that is, objectively, slightly pathetic.

You see, I’m currently stuck at 3ish miles in my half-marathon training. I’ve been stuck for about two weeks now.

First, UGH.

Second, how I’ve decided to deal with this problem has revealed a much more pervasive pattern of behavior.

In an attempt to get myself into 4 and 5 mile territory and back on schedule, I told myself that if I stay on schedule for two weeks, I get to buy myself a vintage Nolan Ryan Rangers jersey.

I thought this was a pretty genius idea. Because it’s totally something I want. Especially with the postseason coming up.

But then, as I was sitting down to do some homework, I realized that this is not the first… or second… or third time I have made such a deal with myself. Because, as I opened my book to read some cases, I said to myself,  “If you finish all of your reading for tomorrow, you can open a bottle of wine tonight.”

Y’all. I bribe myself. On a regular basis. To do normal, productive things.

All the coconut

“If you clean your bathroom, you can buy yourself new candles.”

“If you go running today, you can drink a glass of chocolate almond milk after.”

“If you clean out the fridge, you can bake cookies.”


“If you empty the dishwasher, you can have pasta for dinner.”

“If you do your laundry, you can buy yourself a leopard print scarf.”

“If you get your butt out of bed for five minutes, you can eat a spoonful of that can of frosting you impulse bought at the store.”

…I also talk to myself in the third person, apparently. Weird. Carry on.

Apparently, I’m a results/reward-oriented person. It is NOT about the process for me. Or the journey. I’m all about the destination. But really only if that destination is AWESOME.

So yes, I’m a grown-up person.

This coconut cake was actually involved in a bribery-scheme of mine: “If you get out of bed in time to catch the bus for class, you can have the last piece of coconut cake for breakfast.”

Coconut Bundt Cake

Makes one 12-cup bundt cake

Ingredients

Cake

3 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup unsalted butter, room temp
2 1/2 cups sugar
6 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp coconut extract
1 cup canned coconut milk, unsweetened
2 cups shredded coconut, sweetened

Frosting

2 tbsp unsalted butter, room temp
2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1-2 tbsp milk

Large unsweetened coconut flakes, toasted (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Generously butter and flour your 12-cup bundt pan. Whisk flour and salt together and set aside.
  2. Beat your butter for a bit before beginning to gradually add the sugar. Then, mix the two until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at time, mixing until combined. Add both extracts.
  3. Beat in flour in four additions, alternating with the coconut milk in three additions.  You want to begin and end with flour. Then fold in the sweetened coconut flakes.
  4. Transfer to pan and bake for about 60-70 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean.
  5. Cool in pan for five minutes. Then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.
  6. While cooling, make your frosting. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and beat until combined. Super easy. Super delicious.
  7. If you want your frosting to run down the sides of the cake like mine did you have two options: 1. Frost the cake while it’s still warm (guilty) or 2. Add more milk to your frosting to make the consistency more glazeish, less frostingish. Top with toasted coconut flakes if you want (would TOTALLY recommend it. Adds some nuttiness and texture).

Recipe from Bon Appetit.

It worked.  I caught the bus. And, dang, breakfast was delicious that morning.

Bake with love!!

5 comments

  1. I am planning on making this coconut bundt cake – but there isn’t any baking soda or baking powder listed in the ingredients. Doesn’t it require one of them.

    1. Actually, no, this cake doesn’t require either. The eggs in this recipe do all the work that baking soda or powder would normally do (that’s why you use six(!) of them). I totally thought someone had left out the baking soda/powder the first time I baked a cake this way too. Hope you enjoy!!
      -k

Leave a Reply

