Oatmeal Dark Chocolate Moon Pies

Happy third day of fall! Welcome to my (Kate’s) very favorite season!

You know what’s super unfair about living in Texas, though?

The weather truly doesn’t care what the calendar says. “Oh, you think summer is over in the third week of September?! That’s real cute,” says Texas weather.

Seriously, it got up to 93°F yesterday in Austin.

I laid out by the pool yesterday afternoon, which is ridiculous for two reasons:

  1. I could still lay out by the pool during the fourth week of September.
  2. I could only handle laying out by the pool during the fourth week of September for about an hour before I had to admit defeat to the sun. Seriously. It was a sweaty mess out there.

I find this to be a particularly cruel joke. Mostly because if the weather would permit it, I would wear sweaters and (fashionable) hoodies all day, every day.

I mean, not that the weather totally hinders my sweater wearing. Sometimes, I think I can will the weather to get cooler by wearing sweaters and scarves. Mostly this just makes me really hot and maybe a little bit smelly. Sorry, classmates.

Sometimes, I go to Target and I buy three sweaters because I don’t believe the weather forecast when it says it’s going to be in the mid-90s for the rest of the week. Like, maybe I did that this weekend is what I’m saying. (They’re so totally cute, though, you guys. I can’t wait to wear them).

Don’t get me wrong. I think summer is great. Sort of. But who ever described a tank top as “comfy”? And rainy days in the summer don’t get to be enjoyed by the window with a glass of tea and an over-sized fleece. Also, who enjoys getting sweaty walking from the bus stop to class? (Nobody).

More selfishly, I just really don’t know how to dress myself when it gets warmer. I can’t accessorize with a scarf. Somehow flats don’t add the same polish to an outfit that boots do. Peacoats and jackets make you instantly more put-together. In the summer, I always end up looking like I rushed out of the house halfway through getting dressed. Even when I’m dragging myself into a Fall semester exam, I look approximately 17x more grown-up and with-it than I do during Spring semester. It’s the boots and the scarf.

So, if you have some sweater weather wherever you are, could you think about sending some down to Texas? I would totally appreciate your generosity. And you could feel awesome that because of your actions, a girl in Texas understands how to put an outfit together again and might also make friends because she doesn’t smell anymore. Think of all the good you could do!!

Oatmeal Dark Chocolate Moon Pies

Makes about 18 sammies

Ingredients

Cookies
1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 1/4 cups old fashioned oats
1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped
3/4 cup bittersweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temp
1 1/2 cups brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla

Ganache
4-5 ounces bittersweet chocolate
1/2 cup heavy cream

Marshmallow Creme
1 cup granulated sugar
4 egg whites
1 tsp vanilla

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F.
  2. I would make the ganache first so you have some time for it to become more spreadable. Heat cream over medium heat until just boiling. Pour over chocolate and let stand for a few minutes. Then whisk til smooth and set aside.
  3. Then, move to your cookies. Whisk your flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt together in a medium bowl. Do the same with your oats, chocolate chips, and walnuts. Set both aside.
  4. Cream together butter and sugar. Add egg and vanilla and mix until well combined.
  5. On low speed, gradually add the flour mixture, mixing until just combined. Stir in oat mixture by hand until just combined.
  6. Form the dough into 36 portions, or about 2 tbsp balls. Gently flatten the cookies with your hands.
  7. Bake for about 10 minutes. Rotate cookie sheets and bake for another 3-5 minutes. You want the cookies to be golden brown, but for the centers to still be soft. They might look a little underdone, but don’t fight it. They’re perfect. I promise. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheets.
  8. As the cookies cool, move to making your marshmallow creme. Full disclosure: this is a bit of a delicate process. I had to try twice before I got it to work. The trick is to beat your egg whites enough before you add the sugar. So: combine 3/4 cup of your sugar and 1/4 cup water in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Let the syrup simmer until a candy thermometer reaches 240°.
  9. Meanwhile, put your egg whites and vanilla in a bowl and whip until quite frothy. Add remaining 1/4 of sugar gradually and continue beating the mixture until medium peaks form. Err on the side of stiffer peaks. If you add the syrup before your egg whites are ready, your mixture will never set. Once your egg whites are ready, slowly add your syrup as you continue to whip the egg whites on low speed. Once all the syrup is added, increase speed to high and whip until stiff peaks form. Voila! Marshmallow fluff!
  10. Once the cookies are cool, you’re ready to assemble! Turn cookies over so that the flat side is up, and spread ganache over each cookie. If your ganache is still a bit runny, let it set up on the cookie for a few minutes before moving to the next step. Once the ganache is a little firmer, slather marshmallow creme on half the cookies. Cover the marshmallow with another cookie. Stuff in your face.

All recipes adapted from Bon Appetit.

I can’t tell you how sad I am to be putting on a sundress for class today.

Bake with love!!

One comment

Leave a Reply

