Nutella-Marbled Mini Donut Muffins

I just basically slept for the last week, and I feel SO much better. It’s amazing what a little lazing around can do for a girl.

I’m super looking forward to baking (and posting!) more regularly again. This summer was a whirlwind that did not consist of butter, sugar, and flour. And those are my least favorite kinds of whirlwinds.

So. Anyway. Decisions. Those are things.

They’re not Kate’s-good-at-you things. Not really.

My To Bake List got sorta backed up this summer.

I’m not a decisive person. I never have been. Little things like deciding what to have for dinner have been known to lead to skipping the meal altogether. I tell people buying me drinks to just get me whatever they’re having because it’s way easier that way. Hannah, The Roommate and I developed a system to deal with our indecisiveness (someone makes a list, someone narrows, someone chooses from the narrowed list) and I hate getting stuck with the last step.

You see, most of the time, I’m no good at making decisions because I honestly don’t have a very strong opinion on the matter. So I prefer to defer to others… who generally do have a strong opinion. I mean, if it doesn’t really matter to me, then why should I get to decide? (Note: going to dinners this summer with attorneys was sometimes torture because it was “my dinner/lunch/event” so I had to choose the wine, the appetizers, the dessert, the whatever. UGH).

Ready to marble?

But, some of the time, I do have an opinion. Or like lots of them. And I don’t know which one to listen to.

I’m pretty much convinced that if I can just learn more about the situation, all will become clear. I’ll be totally comfortable choosing one option over the other because I will know that it’s the right one. When it comes to decisions, I’m totally overwhelmed by the need to know that I’m doing the right thing. Which is kinda completely impossible, right? Which I know. And yet…

Maybe deep down I’m just a masochist. I just can’t get enough of the complete agony I put myself through with these things.

Who knows. You kind of need to be decisive to be a functional adult (I think?). So I’m somehow trying to make myself decide to decide stuff. Deciding to decide. That’ll fix it, right?

Anyway, now I approach all of my big decisions with this in mind: There are very few decisions in life that are final. It’s something my dad told me when I was agonizing over something or other a few years ago. And it helps remind me that even though it might feel like my entire life and future and all the happiness of the all the children in the whole world rides on this choice!!!… it really kinda doesn’t. So just decide, lady! Or something.

Le sigh. Luckily, I’ve wanted to jump on the donut-muffin train pretty much since the second I saw my first donut muffin recipe. Super easy decision here. Baby steps, right?

Nutella-Marbled Mini Donut Muffins

Makes about 3 dozen mini muffins

Ingredients

Nutella Half

2 tbsp butter, room temp
1/4 cup nutella
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/6 cup brown sugar (you need another 1/6 for the other half, so I just packed 1/3 cup and cut it in half)
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/3 cup flour
1/2 cup milk

Vanilla Half

2 tbsp butter, room temp
2 tbsp veggie oil
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/6 cup brown sugar (you need another 1/6 for the other half, so I just packed 1/3 cup and cut it in half)
1 large egg
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/3 cup flour
1/2 cup milk

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 425°F. Grease your muffin tin or line with cupcake liners.
  2. The directions for both halves work pretty much the same way except for the beginning step. To start, cream together the butter and sugars. For the vanilla half, cream with the oil as well. For the nutella half, cream with the nutella. From there, the steps are the same.
  3. Then, add your egg and vanilla. Beat in the baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  4. Add your flour and milk in alternating additions. Two flour additions, one milk addition. Start and end with flour.
  5. Now this is kinda the fun part. You get to marble!! You can do this any way you want, but here’s the way it worked best for me: take a tablespoon of each batter and pour into the muffin cup at the same time. Use the backside of one tablespoon to scrape out the front side of the other one. That way you get swirled muffins to start. I found that trying to do just one batter at a time made it harder to achieve an actual marble and gave layered muffins instead. Swirl a toothpick through each muffin for good measure, but don’t get too crazy about it. You’ll just muddy the muffin if you mix too much.
  6. Bake for 9-10 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Let them cool in pan until they’re cool enough to handle. Then turn them out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Recipe adapted from King Arthur Flour

You know how I make a lot of my smaller decisions now? Eenie Meenie Minie Mo. I’m serious. Hence the new approach…

Raise a donut muffin to mature decision making! Bake with love!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

