Lime Tart with Blueberries

I’m going to tell you the best part about starting year 2 of med school.  It’s going to make me seem like a bad person when I tell you what it is, but I feel like we might be close enough for you to forgive me.

Ready?

As of tomorrow, there will be 240 new students on campus, and they all know less than me.  About things.  Various things.  How to dissect.  How to plan your calendar so you can get free lunch everyday for 2 weeks.  What times of day to arrive on campus in order to get a good parking spot.  I recognize that these aren’t real world things – like how to not buy too many bananas at once, which would actually be helpful – but they count in my book.

Now, I’m no expert on medical school.  Or adulthood.  Or not losing my mind over school sometimes.  But, due to the sheer fact that I already did a whole year of this business, I know more.  I’m sure there are people in that class with PhD’s in engineering and astrophyics and what have you, but that stuff won’t get you through your first fake patient interview.

For now, I know very good and well what I’m doing, where I’m going, and what to wear.  Granted, it’s only been a week.  Ask me again in 3 days, and I’ll be clueless once more.  For now though, I’m savoring the fact that when someone asks me a question, there’s a greater than 25% chance that I’ll be able to answer with something other than, “I have no idea” or, “OMG DID WE LEARN THAT I FORGOT IT ALREADY.”

How embarrassing.  I would never overreact like that.

Uhhh.  I also made a lime tart one time.  I made a cream cheese press-in crust, filled it with super tangy lime curd, and piled on some blueberries.  Oh!  And I got the lime juice from limes I picked from my mom’s “lemon” tree!  Weird how that plant worked out.  Anyways.  It was nice and like summer in a tart pan.

Lime Tart with Blueberries

Makes 8-10 servings

Ingredients:
For lime curd
3 large eggs
3 large egg yolks
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup fresh lime juice
zest of 1 lime
4 TBS unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

For crust
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup (= 1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
4 1/2 oz cream cheese (full fat), room temperature

6 oz fresh blueberries

Directions:
1. For crust – In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, and sugar.  Add the softened butter and cream cheese and stir together with a fork, incorporating the butter and cream cheese evenly.  Once the crust is moistened and begins to come together, use your hands to finish bringing the dough together into a disk.  Press the crust into a 9-inch tart pan or springform pan, making sure to press it up the sides of the pan.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour.
2. Preheat oven to 450F with a rack in the middle position.  Using a fork, poke holes in the bottom of the chilled crust.  Bake the crust until the sides are golden and the bottom is light golden and dry, about 12 minutes.  Let crust cool completely.
3. For filling – Set a mesh strainer over a medium bowl and set aside.  Put a little water in a medium saucepan and bring it to a simmer.  Whisk whole eggs, egg yolks, and sugar in a medium heatproof metal bowl to blend completely.  Add the lime juice and zest, then place the metal bowl over the simmering water, making sure the bottom of the bowl doesn’t touch the water.  Whisk the mixture constantly until the curd thickens, about 8 minutes.  The temperature of the curd should be 178-180F, or you can test if it’s ready by checking if it coats a wooden spoon.
4. Immediately pour the curd into the mesh strainer, and strain it completely through.  Use a wooden spoon or spatula to ensure that all the curd goes through the strainer.  Add the butter, one piece at a time, to the warm curd, stirring each piece in until it melts.  Let the curd cool to room temperature, then cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 3 hours and up to 2 days.
5. To assemble – Remove the sides of the springform or tart pan.  Pour the chilled curd into the baked, cooled crust, and spread it evenly.  Place the blueberries on top of the lime curd, leaving a border of curd visible around the edges…the colors look so pretty together!  Tart will keep, tightly covered and refrigerated, for 2 days…but it’s best served immediately once it’s assembled!

Recipe for tart filling adapted from Bon Appetit via Epicurious; recipe for crust adapted from Joy of Cooking

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

Leave a Reply

