Brown Sugar, Maple, and Pecan Pound Cake

Life has been weird lately.

You see, it all started when I ran out of my perfume. It was a limited edition scent. so there was no way I could buy the same stuff and keep wearing it. I’ve worn that scent for the past six years. To give you some context: Ever since The Accountant has known me, I’ve smelled like that. Like seriously, he didn’t know I wore perfume for the first few years we dated. He just thought that was how I smelled.

Needless to say, I’m having a bit of an identity crisis now.

Here’s how I know, without a doubt, that I am in the midst of an identity crisis: The 3M Half-Marathon.

I registered for that. Last night.

I paid someone $85 plus fees. To run 13.1 miles. In a row. At the same time.

I gave someone dollars to make me get up before the sun rises so that I can move my legs over 13.1 miles of earth. That’s, like, at least two hours of running straight. But more than that because I won’t be running fast enough to finish in two hours. Oh my.

I don’t understand it. I’m a little afraid of it.

What. The. Heck.

Here’s the good news: I’m going to become a runner through this process. There’s really no backing out at this point, for three  reasons:

1. I gave someone $85.

2. I just told the entire interwebs that I’m planning on running a half marathon in six months time.

3. My sister registered for it as well, but only because I plan on running it too.

So I have to become a runner, right? Doing otherwise would mean I wasted money, set myself up for public shame on the internetz, and disappointed a family member. Not a good way to handle the situation.

So I’m stuck doing this thing. Sigh.

None of this would have happened if they would just make Burberry Brit Red again.

Brown Sugar, Maple, and Pecan Pound Cake

Makes one 4.5 x 8.5 loaf

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temp

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 tbsp maple syrup

5 large eggs, room temp

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup pecans, lightly toasted and coarsely chopped

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F. Butter and flour a loaf pan. Set aside.
  2. Cream together butter and sugars for 8 minutes. No, for real. This is part of what helps give your cake some rise. Do it for all eight, scraping down the sides of the bowl every once in a while. Your mixture will be the lightest, fluffiest thing you’ve ever seen
  3. Add maple syrup and combine. Lightly beat your eggs, then slowly add to your butter/sugar mixture. Make sure everything combines well in this step.
  4. Add salt, then gradually mix in the flour. Beat well to combine. Fold in pecans.
  5. Transfer to loaf pan and bake for about 65 minutes. You want a few crumbs sticking to your toothpick, but not a gooey mess.
  6. Let cool in pan on wire rack for an hour. Then remove from pan to cool completely.

Recipe from Martha.

I must have miscounted minutes while beating my butter. Or it could have been that I only had four eggs instead of five (I incorrectly assumed I had a million eggs). Anyway… your loaf will rise more than mine, promise (maybe). Martha is always right.

Bake with love!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

