Raspberry Sweet Cream Biscuits

Sundays are my favorite day of the week.

Is that weird? Some people I know (The Accountant being one of them) just seriously hate Sundays.

I guess I get it. Monday– and the start of another work week– is just around the corner.

But that’s not how I see Sundays.

For me, Sundays are about brunch and lounging. Maybe day-drinking. Definitely TV in bed.

As a certified homebody, I adore how slow Sundays are.

Favorite fruit + one of my favorite foodz = YES

I guess it’s kinda weird, though. Because I am a person who cannot help but get 3000 steps ahead of herself in anything she does. I’m always trying to figure out what 18 things are going to result from this one tiny decision I make. The future is somewhere I spend a lot of my time.

So if I were a betting woman, I would put money on me hating Sundays. Because I should totally be one of those people who hates them for what they bring (Mondays).

Grating some frozen butter

But somehow, I let Sundays be my safe-haven. They are the days I get to go to breakfast and drink mimosas and nap and do things in my own sweet time. I feel no great urgency to do anything on a Sunday. Lazyย Sundays are a real thing in my life.

Except maybe I feel some urgency to bake things. But that’s totally not a bad thing in my book. Let’s be real. I welcome the time and space to play around in the kitchen with flour and butter and sugar.

I’m tryna be more seasonal with my baking. Since summer is really a baker’s paradise and everything: fresh fruit and berries abound! Plus, summer baking is just about 30x more gorgeous than winter baking. Much more colorful.

Raspberry Sweet Cream Biscuits

Makes about 1 dozen

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tbsp baking powder

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

6 tbsp unsalted butter, cold

1 1/4 cups ripe raspberries, somewhat crushed

1 cup cream

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 425F. Line a baking sheet with parchment.
  2. Sift together flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Cut in the butter, using your method of choice. I grated in frozen butter, but you can cut it in with a fork, your hands, a pastry blender. The dough will look like coarsely ground meal.
  3. Gently stir in your raspberries. They will break; they’re fragile berries. Just be as gentle as you can. Stir in your cream. Mix as best you can, but do not overwork the dough. Once most of the flour is wet, knead once or twice against the bowl with your hands.
  4. Turn onto aย generouslyย floured work surface. Press into a circle about 3/4 inch thick. Cut your biscuits. You can repress and cut the excess. The dough will get wetter as you work with it more. No worries.
  5. Transfer to your prepared baking sheet. You can bake them now or cover with plastic wrap and freeze overnight, which is what I did. To bake immediately, give them 12-15 minutes in the oven. If coming from the freezer, no need to thaw. Just give them 3ish more minutes in the oven. Bake until starting to brown and fruit juices are starting to ooze a little.
  6. Let cool on pan for 2-3 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack.

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Summer baking is beautiful

Do you have a favorite day of the week? Is that a weird thing to have?

Enjoy the last day before your week starts! Bake with love!!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

