EuroLife.

I have learned a few things here.

1. There is no order to boarding the metro or the train, or to crossing the street.  At first, I got angry when people stepped in front of me.  Now, I realize that I can do it too!  Getouttamahway.  I have nowhere in particular to be, but I must get there before you.

2. I have no idea why people want to learn English.  It is a ridiculous language with 375,927 rules and 6 times as many exceptions.

3. The most wonderful thing in the world is being some place where you feel comfortable enough to get lost, but at the same time are still fascinated by everything around you.  Doors. (yes.  doors.)  Menu boards sitting outside cafes and bistros.  People sitting outside cafes and bistros.  Street names.

4.  This is brown sugar:

5. If you wear a different pair of shoes everyday, you’ll get blisters in different places.  But this is always preferable to getting multiple blisters on top of one another.  And no, you can’t afford those super comfy-looking flats in the window, so stop wondering if they would stand up to your 6 mile daily wanderings.

6. People here love cheesecake.  It’s even called that.  Somehow, the dessert that is practically the only one in the entire world that I don’t like (and by “don’t like,” I mean I won’t order it, but if you put it in front of me…I will probs eat it) made it here from America.  I’m sure everyone else is thrilled by this, but I think it would be best for everyone if the cookie dough craze crossed the pond.

I’ve also seen some things.  Do you want to see them too?

My new favorite store.  L’epetto.  They make ballet slippers and shoes for normal (wealthy) people too!

More or less Main Street of Marly-le-Roi, where my homestay fam lives.

Flowers are everywhere.  (I know the middle one is trees.)

I went to Lisbon.

I want to live under this tree.  Travel buddy Damien understands.  We were only in Lisbon for a total of 1.5 days, but after dinner he said, “Do you want to go back to your spot?”  Yes.  It is my spot.

Mah new housecastle.  In Chenonceaux.  The river it spans was the line of demarcation during WWII, and French resistance fighters snuck (is that not a word?  sneaked?) through it.  Learning!

An empty spot in the Tuileries.

You know.   My meals.  These things are not going to eat themselves.

I would stay forever, but for the fact that a normal-sized Coca Light (a diet coke imposter if you ask me) costs me 2euro.  Lord knows how much I’d have to pay for a Sonic-sized one.

Leave a Reply

