Avocado Chocolate Cake with Strawberry Frosting

So, funny story: I might be typing this on an iPad. That’s probably something I never envisioned doing. Oh, the turns life takes. My laptop’s wireless card decided to stop working and I didn’t want to keep y’all without a post for any more days. Thus, I post from my iPad.

There are a few reasons why I find my iPad-posting bizarre.

Some might also say it’s bizarre that I made my dad a pink cake for Father’s Day. Whatever. I don’t like to do what’s expected (that’s maybe a big fat lie).

Here’s the first reason I think this whole iPad thing is weird: I own an iPad. This is something I never thought would be true about me.  A little bit because The Accountant is pretty anti-Apple. But mostly because I never got the point of them. Like why use a tablet when you have a laptop? Why spend that much money on something that isn’t as useful as a computer?

I know. How silly of me. It took three minutes to bond with my iPad. Kinda like babies and mothers. I mean, just like that. Obvi…

The second reason? I won this iPad. In a raffle. I’ve never won anything in my life. My luck in these things is just atrocious. And yet, luck was on my side when I was vying for maybe the biggest prize I’ve ever been eligible to win? Weird! (I mean, and awesome. Duh.)

Last reason is just the mechanics of typing an entire post on a touch screen. Just generally more complicated and weird (like, cool your jets, autocorrect! Lemme express myself my way!) It works the same way, I guess. Hitting letters with your fingers and stuff. But somehow it feels funnier. Maybe a little futuristic. Mostly just kinda nerdy.

Ipad-posts are pretty much exactly like pink cakes for dads. Except that I don’t think the second is weird but I think the first one is really weird. And you can eat one and you can’t eat the other. Otherwise, exactly the same thing.

Avocado Chocolate Cake with Strawberry Frosting

Makes one two-layer 8″ cake

Ingredients

Cake

3 cups all-purpose flour

6 tbsp cocoa powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

2 cups granulated sugar

1/4 cup veggie oil

1/2 cup well-mashed, ripe avocado

2 cups water

2 tbsp white vinegar

2 tsp vanilla

Frosting

4 fresh strawberries

1 cup butter, slightly cold

3-4 cups powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions

  1. cake- preheat your oven to 350F. Grease your cake pans and set aside.
  2. Whisk together your dry ingredients, excluding the sugar. In another bowl, whisk together your wet ingredients, including the avocado.
  3. Stir the sugar into the wet mixture. Then add wet to dry and mix until smooth-ish. It’s a bit like pancake mix: there will still be a few lumps and if you mix til those are gone, you’ll have dense, flat cake.
  4. Split the batter between your cake pans. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.
  5. Let rest in cake pans for a 5-10 minutes and then remove cakes to a wire rack to cool completely.
  6. Frosting- while your cakes are cooling, make your frosting! Place hulled strawberries in blender or food processor and blend until you have strawberry purée.
  7. In a bowl, beat butter until smooth and fluffy. Add in about 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar and mix until creamy. Add vanilla and 3 or 4 tbsp of the strawberry purée, depending on how strong you want the strawberry flavor. Add more powdered sugar to even the consistency if necessary.
  8. assemble the cake. This frosting recipe makes the perfect amount for it. I would say I used about 1/3 to 1/2 cup between layers and then the rest went around the outside. I didn’t do a crumb layer and it seemed to be fine, so you don’t have to if you don’t wanna.

cake recipe from Joy the Baker. Frosting from Martha

My sister and I loved this cake. But more importantly, my dad did too. Since I made him a pink cake for Father’s Day, it’s probably good he liked the way it tasted. Though my dad is def  an enlightened male and knows that pink can be for boys too. He’s the best like that. And in so many other ways. But the avocado was a cool way to substitute for the fat in this recipe. Plus it’s good fat! You can’t really taste the difference here, but I’ll be interested to try this method with a yellow cake recipe to see if the avocado flavor comes through a bit more.

iPad photo editing is beyond my skillset right now… thus, dark pictures.

Life is weird. Dads are awesome. Bake with love!

6 comments

  1. Love the concept of an avocado cake. Oh the revolt if I served this to my boyfriend. He was enjoying beetroot brownies a lot, and I mean a lot (he said “best ever”) until I told him their secret ingredient. My daughter on the other hand, didn’t allow anyone else a look in and kept stealing them off the kitchen worktop stealth style.

    On the topic of iPad. I post all my posts from iPad. An iPad I also won. Funny that! But brilliant. I’m an apple fanatic, every product in this house is apple. My apple laptop though cannot handle blogging anymore, the mouse has given up on me. Im in the market to win one 😉 haha. P.S for future reference you can turn off the predictive text, it drives me insane sometimes, thinking I want to say things I really honestly dont!!!

    Anyway, nice post. That is all.

    1. Sounds like food bloggers have exceptional luck in the iPad-winning business. And thanks for the tip about the predictive text! It was driving me nuts.

      And, your daughter sounds like my kinda girl. Vegetables that actually taste like chocolate? Please and thank you. 🙂

    1. Agreed! Super easy way to veganize. Or just a fun way to play around with a cake recipe. Plus, I felt way less guilty eating biiiig slices of this cake because they were full of good avocado fat, not bad butter fat (except for the whole buttercream thing…)

    1. There isn’t a huge texture difference between this cake and any other chocolate cake. It may be slightly lighter (less dense) than other, as chocolate cakes can skew to the dense and rich side of the spectrum. The avocado keeps the cake on the light and fluffy side of things.
      -k

Leave a Reply

