Margarita Cupcakes

Okay, so these are a little late for Cinco de Mayo celebrations. I(Kate) totally get that.

But here’s the thing: it’s been kinda a rough week. I hit my face on a door Wednesday in the middle of the night. No. Seriously. Cheekbone+ Doorjamb =my face. Oh, life. Then, I took a final on Thursday. I have a 20+ page paper due today (it’s written already, don’t worry). To top it all off, I have another final on Wednesday. Timing isn’t really what I’m focused on. Plus, do you really need a holiday as an excuse to make margs into cupcakes? (Answer: No.)

Also, I experienced some serious trauma on Cinco de Mayo. So I was a little distracted.

What was that, you ask? Oh. You know. Just a (mouse)RAT in my apartment. (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

Some of this helps when you find yourself in my shoes.

GROSS.

EW.

ICK.

NASTY.

Seriously, you guys, this is my reality right now. A rat. Or mouse. I’m not an expert. Somewhere in my apartment!


And it’s bad enough it was in my apartment at all. But it gets worse: IT TOUCHED ME.

I went to put some chips away in the pantry and it fell onto my hand. IT FELL. ONTO MY HAND. ALIVE. (!!!!!!!!!)

So many capital letters and exclamation points are necessary to convey the depth of my feelings about this.


Needless to say, there was a lot of screaming, so many “Oh my GAWD”s, a whole mess of running, and quite a lotta door slamming. And also some calling The Accountant to ask what to do about it. Because, if there’s anyone who can help, it’s him. In his apartment. Approximately 2000 miles away. There was a little nausea. A whole bunch of feeling like crying. It was really not a “I’m a strong, capable female hear me roar” kinda moment. It was more “Hi my name is Kate, and I’m a walking cliche” moment.

I mean, it touched me. What was I supposed to do?! NOT be freaked out by it?! Psh. Yeah, right.


I’m seriously surprised no one called the cops because I was screaming bloody murder and running through my apartment for a good minute. Thanks a lot for your concern, neighbors. Glad to know I can count on you in a pinch.

Who I can count on, though, is Kirby (my cat). I let her out of my room after I had calmed down and she stalked her way to the kitchen  carefully….caaaaarefully…. and then POUNCED on that (mouse)rat. Unfortunately, she’s a little inexperienced with live prey so it ran under the oven. But she has been dutifully standing guard by the oven waiting for her second chance.

I’m feeling a weird mix of pride and revulsion. But I’m dealing with it.

Now that I’ve thoroughly grossed you out by talking about rodents, who wants to hear about cupcakes?! Look, I’m sorry I just told you all that in a post about food. That’s not fair. Don’t associate these cupcakes with rats. That would be unfair to both the cupcakes and to you. They’re delicious and clean and so NOT like a rodent. Seriously. I’m sorry. I just really needed to let you know what I’m dealing with right now.

Margarita Cupcakes

Makes about 18 cupcakes

Ingredients

Cupcakes

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
2 tsps baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
12 tbsp unsalted butter, room temp
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs, room temp
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp lime zest
3 tbsp lime juice
3 tbsp tequila
3/4 cup buttermilk

Frosting
1 cup unsalted butter, room temp
1 tbsp lime juice
zest of one lime
2 tbsp tequila
3 cups powdered sugar
coarse salt for sprinkling

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 325°F. Line a cupcake tin with liners.
  2. Whisk together dry ingredients in bowl and set aside. Cream together butter and sugar. Add your eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Next, add vanilla, lime juice, tequila, and zest. Mix until well combined. Your mixture might look kinda funky right now. Power through. It’ll pull itself together.
  3. Add in your flour, alternating with your buttermilk. Three additions of flour, two of buttermilk. Begin and end with flour. Mix until just combined after each addition.
  4. Divide the batter among cupcake cups. I didn’t do that very well. Fill them about 2/3 full. They rise.
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a tester comes out with slightly moist crumbs. Let cool in pan for a few minutes. Then move to wire rack to cool. Once transferred and while still warm, brush the tops of the cupcakes with tequila. Divide a couple of tablespoons among them. Then, allow to cool completely.
  6. To make the frosting, beat the butter until creamy and smooth. Add in the powdered sugar and mix until smooth. Add remaining ingredients, including a pinch of salt, and combine.
  7. To assemble the cupcakes, divide frosting evenly among cupcakes. Top with a sprinkle of coarse salt, lime zest, and/or a lime slice.

Recipe adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

I hope your Cinco de Mayo was more enjoyable than mine.  I loved these cupcakes. They’re boozy but the lime juice keeps them bright, not heavy. Delish. Bake with love!

Leave a Reply

