Mango Banana Bread

I wanted to title this “Mango Yonana Bread,” because have you ever looked at the stickers on Chiquita bananas?  Some of them say “make YONANAS,” which is when you freeze bananas, blend them, and pretend it’s ice cream.  This is legit, but every time I read “yo-nanas” I giggle and say in my head, “Yo-nanas?  My-nanas!”

Weird.

Feel free to go read something less strange now.

Want to hear something even more strange?  Left hemispatial neglect.  Wiki that business.  (It’s when you can see, but don’t acknowledge anything in your left visual field.  Not like ignoring someone annoying.  Like…you see it…but you don’t even register that it’s there.)

Try to wrap your brain around it.  The brain is CRAY CRAY.  And awesome.

Something less strange is banana bread.  Banana bread is pretty safe.  It also takes all kinds of stuff we throw at it.  Banana bread is a good recipe to go a little crazy with.  I didn’t go too crazy, but I did stir in some pureed mango and some chopped dried mango.

Whoa.  Rein it in, Han.  Somebody needs to keep me in check.  This is a wild life I lead.

My whole life I’ve only made one banana recipe from a cookbook called “La Bonne Cuisine.”  My whole life!  If someone says banana bread, I can almost feel those stiff, stained, stuck-together pages in that cookbook.  This time though, I ventured out into the big scary world wide web.  I searched for a recipe on Epicurious, and landed on one that 98% (!!!) of people said they would make again.  Someone’s Aunt Holly made up this recipe at some point in time.

I did sub in some whole wheat flour and cut back on the sugar the recipe called for, but only because I knew my mango was super sweet.  But otherwise, this Holly character is pretty dang good at making super simple banana bread.

Mango Banana Bread

Makes one 9x5inch loaf

Ingredients:
3 overripe bananas
1 ripe mango, peeled and pureed until smooth
1/4 cup melted unsalted butter
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour, with about 1 TBS reserved
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 tsp baking soda
about 3/4 cup chopped dried mango

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F with a rack in the middle position.  Grease a loaf pan well and set aside.  Toss the dried mango with the reserved 1 TBS flour
2. In a large bowl, mash together the bananas and the mango.  Add all the ingredients except for the dried mango, mixing until combined.  Stir in the dried mango.
3. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 50 to 60 minutes, until the top is deep golden brown and the bread springs back when pressed lightly.  Let bread cool in pan on wire rack for 10 minutes, then turn the loaf out to cool completely on the rack.  Bread will keep, wrapped tightly, at room temperature for 3 days.  (You can also freeze it for up to a month if you wrap it well!)

Recipe adapted from Epicurious

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

 

2 comments

    1. I knew they were good together in smoothies…turns out they’re baking buddies too! thanks for reading 🙂 ~ Hannah

Leave a Reply

