Chocolate Orange Bundt Cake with Orange Buttercream Frosting/Glaze(ish)

Today is the last day of class in my second year of law school.

Let’s just stop for a second and think about that.

In just (over) one year, I will (hopefully) be certified to practice law in the state of Texas. Woah.

That is, if I can pass my finals this semester…

Last day of class means my finals start on Thursday. Ew. Gross. Ick.

I’m going to use this post as a sort of “review.” I’m going to teach you things about the law.

Here’s one thing I learned this semester. I have to now tell you that I am not licensed to practice law, that I am not your lawyer, that you should not rely on anything that I say about the law. Basically, don’t ask me for legal advice because I am not competent to give it (yet). Also because I really don’t want you to sue me for misleading you. See? I learned things in my Professional Responsibility class!

Wanna know something else about the law? Hearsay is a real thing. And it’s actually kinda complicated. There are about three thousand exceptions to the general rule that hearsay is inadmissible as evidence in a trial. Wanna know the mnemonic that I’ve been told to use to remember all of these exceptions? “BAD SPLITS PEPPI F.” B is for Business Records. A is for Admissions by Party Opponent. D is for Dying Declaration. I could go on and on and on. But I won’t. You’re welcome.

Super in love with this bundt pan. Got it for Christmas and it is gorgeous!

Also, it takes less capacity to make a valid will than it does to get married. So, you know, think about that before you try to challenge a will on grounds of lack of capacity. Also, you can write a will on literally anything. A napkin, a door, a wall, the bumper from a tractor (seriously, it happened. The court admitted it to probate). Just make sure it’s written all in your handwriting. And signed.

Last thing I’m going to bore you with: Lawyers are allowed to advertise services, but not solicit employment. So ambulance chasers? If they actually follow you to the hospital and give you their card, they violated a rule of professional ethics. And you are totally allowed (slash encouraged) to report them to the State Bar. Just FYI.

This cake has literally nothing to do with legal ethics or evidence or wills. Or contracts or criminal law or torts. None of my law school classes apply to this cake. But that’s okay. It’s still delicious. And I still decided to make it in the midst of prepping for finals. It’s good for your soul, I swear.

Chocolate Orange Bundt Cake with Orange Buttercream Frosting/Glaze

Makes one 14-cup bundt cake

Ingredients

For the cakeย 

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup whole milk
1/2 cup sour cream
2 sticks unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
zest of one orange (about 1 1/2 tbsp)
1/4 orange juice

For the glaze

4 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
2 – 2 1/2 cups powered sugar
2 tsp orange zest
1/4 cup orange juice

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 325ยฐF. Butter and flour your bundt pan. Whisk together dry ingredients in a separate bowl and set aside. Mix together sour cream, milk, orange juice, and zest in another bowl. Set aside.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar. Add your eggs, one at a time, mixing well with each addition. Then add your vanilla.
  3. On low speed, alternate mixing in your flour and sour cream mixture. You want to have three additions of flour, two of sour cream. Begin with flour and end with flour. Allow each addition to be just combined before moving to the next.
  4. Spoon batter into pan. You want to try to even the batter in the pan as much as possible, as it will not even itself out while baking. Since you flip a bundt cake, you kinda want the top to be flat. Let bake for 55-60 minutes or until a tester comes out clean. Let cool on a wire rack in pan for about 45 minutes.
  5. While cake is cooling, make the frosting/glaze. I wanted it to be more glaze-y than frosting-y, so I added more juice, less sugar. If you want to have more of a frosting, do the opposite. Beat butter until smooth and creamy. Add in powdered sugar and mix til smooth. Finally, add zest and juice and mix until smooth.
  6. When cake is cool-ish, invert onto serving dish/plate. Pour glaze over top. Serve.
  7. I loved this cake still slightly warm. It’s good when it cools too, but it was divine while still warm.

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart and my brain.

Chocolate and orange was a bandwagon that took me a little while to jump on. In this context, I wholeheartedly endorse the combo. It brightens up this chocolate cake, which is somewhat dense. My mnemonic for remembering this is “YDGIMM” which stands for “yum delish get in my mouth.”

I’m almost 2/3 a lawyer! Bake with love!

4 comments

      1. I freakin’ love the bunt cake. I am saddened that it has come down in popularity over the recent years as food network shows have glorified artistic cakes covered in fondant. The bunt cake is easily one of the better tasting and moister types of cake there is. I will have my wife make this. Thanks.

      2. We aim to please here at FDL. And I think you have a compelling argument for the resurgence of the bundt cake. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

