Honey and Grapefruit Whoopie Pies

Every time I go to the grocery store, I buy a pound of butter and a box of Kashi Go Lean Crunch (Honey Almond Flax edition).

Sometimes, I overestimate my ability to move through the perishables I buy. Like, last time I went to the store, I also bought 18 pounds of grapefruit. I didn’t mean to… I just picked up a big bag of grapefruit because they were the right size and way cheaper than the ones they were selling individually. I made it through about 13 pounds before they started going bad.

I eat queso for dinner sometimes. Just queso. And tortilla chips, of course.

Just a smattering of facts. Comin’ atcha from your favorite law student.

I put twice as much vanilla as the recipe calls for. Always. Because I always watched my mom put more vanilla in her chocolate chip cookies than the recipe called for. They tasted 10x better than anyone else’s chocolate-chip cookies. And it felt like a secret we knew that the rest of the world didn’t. Thus, my vanilla-doubling.

A little bit of this.

I check my cellphone incessantly. Especially right after I send a text message or an email. I start waiting for a response the second I press send. So, if I send you something, just know I’m anxiously awaiting what you have to say back. Don’t leave me hanging.

Sometimes, I struggle to think of something more strikingly gorgeous than a well-executed curve ball.

Aftermath.

I develop a serious attachment to every book I buy. Making the first mark in a new book is painful for me. Selling them back is also challenging. I still have every book from every philosophy class I took in college.

Sometimes, when I’m stressed and can’t focus on my law school reading, I open one of my favorites and read until my brain quiets down. Usually, I read Being and Nothingness by Sartre. It is, hands-down, my favorite book of all time. His world-view is so beautiful and empowering and frightening and amazing. Then I get back to reading SCOTUS opinions.

I am so grateful every day that I got to know my dad as a person instead of just as my parent. He’s one of the coolest people I know. I feel lucky to know that. What an awesome perk of growing up.

My body knows when I’m stressed before my brain does (or at least before it wants to admit it). What I mean is, when I start craving Sour Patch Kids, I know things are getting real. And that I need to start getting stuff done. Sour Patch Kids are my “uh-oh, it’s almost finals” food. When I start craving Red Bull and Cheez-its, we’re about two weeks out from finals.

My cat is my favorite thing I’ve ever spent money on. Every dime has been worth it. Even when she makes me crazy, pawing at my face at 230am because she’s bored and hungry and I’m sleeping instead of entertaining and feeding her. I’m coming to terms with the fact that I’m going to be a cat lady when I get older.

I can become obsessive about ideas and songs and movies and TV shows. When I get out of a movie I enjoyed, I wanna watch it again immediately. I tattooed a red stegosaurus on the inside of my right foot because I became obsessed with the idea of a small outline of a dinosaur on my foot. Right now, I’ve been nursing the idea of a sugar skull tattoo on my rib cage for about a year. I can’t shake it.

Time to play the Match Game

Weeks where I can’t decide what I want to bake are stressful weeks. Sometimes I flip through every cookbook I own trying to find something I just HAVE to make. Most of the time, it works. Weeks like this week, though, it doesn’t. And I’m at a complete loss as to what to do about it. Today, I looked at what I had in my house, thought about what I might be craving, and then crafted something. It was kind of torturous. I just wanted to bake something but I couldn’t decide what. This is what resulted. Not too shabby, I think.

Honey and Grapefruit Whoopie Pies

Makes about 15 sandwiches 

Ingredients

For the Cookies

1 stick butter, room temperature

1 cup light brown sugar, packed

5 tbsp honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup buttermilk

For the Frosting 

1 cup butter, softened

4- 5 cups powdered sugar

zest of one grapefruit

1/3 cup grapefruit juice

Directions 

  1. For the cookies- Preheat your oven to 375ºF. Line cookie sheets with parchment.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar. Add egg, vanilla, and honey and mix until well combined.
  3. Add in the flour and buttermilk in alternating order. You want three additions of flour and two of buttermilk. Start and end with flour, and mix until just combined each time. Drop batter in 1-2 tablespoons about two inches apart. Bake for about 12 minutes, or until the edges of the cookies start to brown
  4. Let cool on sheets on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Then remove cookies from sheet and let cool fully on the wire rack.
  5. For the frosting- Cream together butter and sugar. Add zest and juice and beat until well combined. You can play around with the juice/sugar ratio to get the consistency/taste you want.
  6. Assemble your sandwiches by placing two-ish tablespoons of frosting between two cookies.
  7. Stuff in your face.

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart and Food.com

I'm never patient enough for frosting chilling.

I would maybe chill this frosting before using it. I maybe went overboard on the sugar trying to get the right consistency. Either way, I consider this experiment a success.

Thanks for indulging my need for sharing time. Bake with love!

5 comments

    1. I was pretty pleased with my predicament. Also pleased to see the nag weighed 18lbs so I wasn’t just pathetically weak trying to lug it up the stairs to my apartment. 🙂

  1. Wait a minute, if you double the vanilla in each of your recipes, and I make one of your recipes and double it in mine (because that’s what I do, too), I’m really quadrupling the vanilla?

    1. Impressive math (i’m serious). But no, I post the amount the recipe calls for and then just don’t follow the recipe myself. So if youre doubling the vanilla I post, youre good. Golden, even, because it’s a habit I wholeheartedly approve. 🙂 Though quadruple vanilla is intriguing (and probably expensive)…

Leave a Reply

