Pantry Cookies (or Kate’s attempt at Cowboy Cookies)

So I went to make cookies tonight. And I only had one cup of flour.

I also only had 3 oz of semisweet chocolate.

Luckily, I had pretzels and plenty of oats. And a mishmash of other chocolate stuff.

Sometimes, I’m too lazy to go to the store. This was one of those times.

But, I mean, is it that bad? This way my recipe is an “adaptation.” I’m creating stuff here! Creativity is the most sought-after trait in CEOs. Look it up.

(If that’s not right, I blame the professor that told me. I would never lie to you. We’re friends. And friends are honest.)


Also, I would like to make it clear (to my dad) that the lack of flour in my house does not reflect the rest of my grocery situation. In fact, I ate a kale salad for dinner tonight. It was delicious.

Yesterday I had crispy cauliflower with dijon vinaigrette… and ice cream. But let’s focus on the vegetables, shall we?

Just some pretzels and chopped semisweet baking chocolate and milk chocolate chips and chopped heath bars.

So, what I’m saying is: I’m not averse to the grocery store all the time. Just this time (and like 95% of the rest of the time).

You don't even have to bake them if you don't want to. This dough is delish. (Eating raw eggs is dangerous?)

Plus, my sister and I share the view that baked good genius is born of creativity (and laziness). Like when I’m out of all-purpose flour but want some muffins? Make ’em whole wheat! Instantly better for you (or at least they sound like it).

Only have  half the sugar you need for cookies? Use leftover caramel sauce! Instantly exotic!

No eggs? Use applesauce! Instantly vegan (unless you put some butter in there)! No applesauce? …well. I don’t know. Cornstarch?

Embrace the “adaptation” of necessity is what I’m saying. Make something sweet! Make it work!

Because sometimes, we are above going to the grocery store. And by that I mean: we have really important things to be doing like cuddling with our cats and sitting on the couch and deciding whether or not we like Justin Bieber’s new single (we’re warming up to it). Or doing research for our seminar papers. I guess.

Loosely Adapted Cowboy Cookies

Makes about 3 dozen cookies 

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups rolled oats

14 tbsp unsalted butter, cool but not cold (and also not room temp)

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups of chocolate of some kind (I used 3 oz semisweet chunks, 3 oz chopped Heath bars, 3 oz milk chocolate chips, 3 oz PB chips…ish)

1/2 cup thin salty pretzels, broken into small pieces

Directions

  1. In a bowl, mix together the dry ingredients, including the oats.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugars until smooth and creamy. Mix in the eggs until it looks light and fluffy. Add vanilla and beat for only 5 seconds. Remember to scrape down the bowl between steps.
  3. Mix in half the dry ingredients for 15 seconds. Add the remaining half and beat until just combined.
  4. Fold in the pretzels and chocolate of choice.
  5. Cover the bowl with saran wrap and chill the dough. The men of Baked say to do it for at least 4 hours. I put mine in the freezer for 45 minutes. Adaptations!!
  6. Preheat your over to 350°F. Line your baking sheets. Definitely do this because I didn’t for the first batch and getting them up from the pan broke more than one of the cookies.
  7. Drop balls of about two tablespoons of dough on the prepared pans 1-2 inches apart. Mine spread a bit (perhaps because of my sped-up chill time, perhaps because of my mishmash of chocolate, perhaps because of the bread flour?). So don’t be surprised if yours do.
  8. Bake for 11-13 minutes or until the edges of the cookies begin to brown.
  9. Cool on pan on a wire rack for about 10 minutes. Then move from pan to rack to cool completely.
Recipe adapted from Baked

Full disclosure: I may have used bread flour in these for 3/4 cup of the flour… See above.

Cat not included. But these cookies ARE cat-approved.

Adapt away! Bake with love!!

3 comments

  1. Way to cook with what you have! I’d say you made out a-ok. In fact, I might run to the store for Heath bars the next time I think about making chocolate chip cookies….

    1. Thanks! And I would totally endorse a Heath bar substitution in chocolate chip cookies. Baked toffee bits are one of my favorite things!

Leave a Reply

