Chocolate Biscotti with Chocolate-Covered Espresso Beans and Pecans

This week is my Spring Break.

Here are things about this week that are not very Spring Break-like for me:

  1. I have to wake up at 830am every day.
  2. I have to work on editing journal articles from 9am-5pm every day.
  3. This takes place in a library. INSIDE.
  4. Even if I didn’t have to be inside all day, it is RAINING this week.
  5. I think I’m getting sick.
Gross.

So, it’s Pi Day. And I don’t even have a pie for y’all. Sorry.

I meant to make one. And then I woke up this morning feeling less than stellar. Why is it that your body decides to get sick when you finally have time to enjoy your life? I mean, I guess it’s better than when you’re busy and have 1000 things to do. But I mean, c’mon. Not fair.

And I spent all day doing journal work. Then I took a four-hour fake nap.

I say fake because I was trying to nap during the time when Kirby feels she is entitled to be fed. So I was in that weird almost-asleep state while she pestered me to please put food in her food bowl oh my god I’m so hungry why don’t you love me.

I'm not very good at following my own directions. Yours should be a little thinner than this.

Anyway, it’s been kinda a rough day. So I didn’t make you a pie for Pi Day. I swear it’s not because I don’t love you. I just didn’t really feel like going to the store to pick up a new pie pan (gave mine away and never got it back) and more butter. And pie crust just wasn’t in the cards either. It’s probably for the best. That pie would have been a hot mess.

I’m feeling a bit better now, though, because I just had some serious Thai soup for dinner. It was spicy and lemongrassy and delicious and it cleared out some of the congestion and soothed some of the throat soreness. Yay for feel-good soup.

So I made these biscotti yesterday because I’ve been meaning to use these chocolate-covered espresso beans for a little while. And I thought: you eat biscotti with coffee, why not put the coffee IN the biscotti? The recipe I used gives you a little bit softer biscotti. So if you want more traditionally crisp biscotti, double the second bake time.

Chocolate Biscotti with Chocolate-Covered Espresso Beans and Pecans

Makes about 1 dozen

Ingredients

6 tablespoons butter, room temperature

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup pecans

1/2 cup chocolate -covered espresso beans

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour a baking sheet.
  2. Whisk together dry ingredients. Beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in eggs and vanilla and mix until well combined.
  3. Mix in flour mixture until a stiff dough forms. Finally, add in pecans and chocolate covered espresso beans.
  4. Turn out onto prepared baking sheet and form into a 12×4 loaf. Bake until slightly firm, 30-35 minutes
  5. Cool about 5 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 300°F.
  6. Slice biscotti loaf diagonally into 1 inch slices. Use a sharp serrated knife to get through the espresso beans and pecans.
  7. Place the slices, cut side down, and bake again for another 10-15 minutes depending on how crisp/firm you want the biscotti to be.

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart.

Since I’m still feeling a little blah, I fail at writing compelling blog posts. My bad. As far as making biscotti goes, I think I did pretty well here. So I’d say today is a wash.

Bake with love!

Leave a Reply

