Fudge-stuffed Salted Oatmeal Cookies

We have a big test on the kidneys and hormones on Friday.  Did you know that making pee is one of the most complex, ridiculous things your body does?  Srsly.  Everyone should appreciate their kidneys more.  Be nice to your kidneys!

Anyways.  Let’s talk about not kidneys.  You know how everyone says if you want to eat healthy, don’t buy anything at the grocery store that’s unhealthy?  Because then it’s not even in your house and such.  Somehow, this has happened to me.  I mean…I know how it happened.  I went to the grocery store and only put nice, friendly, vitamin-y things in my cart.  Usually though, there is still something lying around my pantry or fridge.  A bag of peanut M&M’s I’m saving for a “baking project” (this is what I tell myself and anyone who asks).  A 72oz bag of chocolate chips from Costco.  Perhaps even some leftover cookie dough just hangin’ out in the freezer.

(I considered saying “chillin” in the freezer, but that’s decidedly NOT funny.)

IT’S.  ALL.  GONE.  There is NOTHING in this apartment that is bad for me.  How could I let this happen!??!?  It is a TEST WEEK.  A.k.a., if we hadn’t just learned about diabetuhs, I would be subsisting on sour gummy worms and onion rings (not at the same time).  They won’t tell you this at med school orientation, but I will.  If you’re learning yourself some medical knowledge at 2am and there’s no chocolate in your vicinity, lord help you.

True story: I stood in front of my glass sugar canister the other day and thought, “Well.  This is the end of the road.  If you want something sweet, you have to eat that.”

Thankfully for my teeth, insulin levels, and your opinion of me, I managed to resist the urge to eat sugar.

Life lesson learned.  Do not listen to what all of those people – who may very well be doctors, nutritionists, physicists, I dunno – say.  Always have something “unhealthy” (I say if it keeps you from losing your mind, it can’t be that unhealthy) in the house.  Kale just doesn’t cut it.

Before I ran out of chocolate, I made these a week or so ago before our last test.  I made the fudge to bring somewhere, forgot to bring it, and then put it in cookies.  I just used a really simple condensed milk based fudge recipe, minus the nuts, but you can do whatever you want!

This is what study cookies look like.

Fudge-stuffed Salted Oatmeal Cookies

Makes about 18-20 cookies

Ingredients:
14 TBS unsalted butter, room temp
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt, plus extra for sprinkling
3 cups old-fashioned oats
about 20 1/2- to 3/4-inch square pieces of fudge

Directions:
1. In a small bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, and 1/2 tsp salt.  Set aside.
2. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and brown sugar on medium-high speed until fluffy, about 2-3 minutes.  Beat in the eggs one at a time, then beat in the vanilla extract.  On low speed, beat in the flour mixture until just combined.  Stir in the oats.  Cover dough bowl and chill for at least 1 hour in the refrigerator.
3. Preheat the oven to 350F with racks in the middle upper and middle lower positions.
4. Scoop out about 1 to 1 1/2 TBS dough and place it on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Place a fudge square on top and lightly press down.

Scoop out another 1 to 1 1/2 TBS dough on top of the fudge square and press down, sealing the edges of the cookie around the fudge.  Repeat with remaining dough, placing cookies about 2 inches apart on the baking sheets.  Lightly sprinkle the tops with salt or sea salt.
5. Bake cookies for 10 to 15 minutes or until dry and light golden brown on top.  Let cookies cool for a few minutes on the pans, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.  Cookies will keep in an airtight container for 3 days.

Recipe for cookies adapted from Quaker Oats

The cookies are fabulous when the fudge is still warm inside, but they’re also wonderful once they’re cooled!  Perfect combo of texture, sweetness, and saltiness.  Thanks for reading, happy baking!

5 comments

  1. Hi honey,
    These sound delish! You can lecture me anytime about eating healthy as long as I know one of your FDL treats is waiting for me at the end of the lecture!!
    I love you and good luck on your kidney test.
    Love, Mom

  2. Wow, yum! A friend gave me a plate of fudge and I’m trying not to eat the whole thing–I should make these and give some back to her! And sorry to hear you found yourself without treats–I know that sugar always was necessary to help fuel my grad school study sessions.

Leave a Reply

