Cream Cheese Frosting Cookies

You guys. It happened again.

Netflix Instant has sucked me into a black hole.

Of seven seasons of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I have a problem. I can’t stop. Someone hold an intervention. For the love of all that is good. Help me.

I mean, I’m not saying that I don’t absolutely enjoy every single second I spend watching Buffy. She slays all the demons. She makes all the jokes. She wears all the late-90s clothes. But really… clear pink sunglasses. Leopard print faux fur jacket. Chunky heel boots. It’s almost too much. Almost.

I’m currently halfway through Season 3. I’ve also watched about half of Season 6 (I get impatient sometimes). So that makes 3 seasons. About 60 episodes.

IN A WEEK.

No product endorsement here. I swear.

I wasn’t joking okay?! I honestly cannot stop watching this show.

I’m lucky I built a daily 4 hour break in between my classes this semester. Or I could be totally and utterly behind in all my classes. (But I’m not! Promise, Dad!)

This whole debacle with Buffy has also made me confront something else about myself: I always, without fail, root for the wrong character in a showmoviebook. Are you the wounded bad boy that will never ever be good enough for the protagonist? Are you the absolute worst thing that could happen to someone? Well, then, I think you’re the best thing on the planet. You should win. Everything. All the time.

To use Buffy as an example: In the Spike v. Angel debate, I vote Spike. Angel has a soul. Spike has approximately zero redeeming qualities. I realize this… and yet.  Angel’s even better looking. Annnnd yet….

Another example: In the Don Draper’s mistress v. Betty Draper fight, I vote mistress. Except for the wife of Jimmy Barrett. She was bad news. Seriously, though, I root for Don to cheat on Betty. Every time. Please don’t judge me. I would never root for that in real life. Cross my heart.

Yet another example: Actually. No. I should really stop incriminating myself here.

Is there any way to spin this where I don’t look like an awful person? I can’t be the only person who feels this way, right?

Right?!?!

In my last defense, I offer this: I have always unwaveringly chosen the right side in The Hunger Games epic love triangle. Team Peeta fo’ lyfe, y’all. Never even a question on that one (43 days til the midnight release of the movie. BTW. If you were wondering).

Cream Cheese Frosting Cookies (with and without Dark Chocolate Chunks)

Makes about 3 dozen

Ingredients

4 tbs butter, room temperature

3/4 cup sugar

1 large egg

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1  tsp salt

1 1/2 cups cream cheese frosting, preferably room temperature

4 oz dark chocolate, coarsely chopped (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Whisk together dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar. The ratio here is a little different than in other cookies, so it might not be as light and fluffy as you’re used to. It’s cool. Don’t freak out about it.
  3. Add egg and beat til combined.
  4. Add dry ingredients. Mix in the frosting til combined. You may need to scrape the bowl a bit to make sure it completely combines. But don’t go overboard. Don’t want to overmix the dough. The dough should be firm without being dry. If you want to add chocolate, now would be your cue. I went halfsies on my recipe because I wanted to see what they tasted like both ways (answer: both good).
  5. Drop mounds of dough, about two tablespoons each, onto a baking sheet about 3-4 inches apart.
  6. Bake for about 10-12 minutes or until cookies are firm and starting to brown around the edges.
  7. Let the cookies cool for 3ish minutes on the cookie sheet. Then move to a rack until fully cool.

Recipe based off of Martha Stewart‘s sugar cookies. 

So, basically, I just had some extra cream cheese frosting I needed to do something with (which is funny because to have enough for this recipe I had to buy another tub of it). And I thought, “Man I hate feel restricted about my frosting uses! Why does it have to go on top of stuff? Why can’t it go IN stuff?” So I thought I’d see how it worked in cookies. Turned out pretty well, I think. They taste pretty similar to basic sugar cookies, but the texture is a little different– they’re fluffier and crispier at the same time. Now that I know this works out, I can’t wait to make Hannah’s wonderful strawberry cream cheese frosting  and put that into some cookies. YUM. You could probably do this with any frosting you want, cream cheese is just what I had that I wanted to use.

You know you want to put frosting IN your cookies! Bake with love!

PS- I want to formally apologize for the quality of my photos. I bake at night. I post at night. I blame law school for stealing all the good light.

8 comments

    1. Excellent choice of fictional character!! And yes, chewy on the inside, crispy on the outside. Best of both worlds!

  1. Oh my gosh no! same thing happened to me with Grey’s I ate and slept in Grey’s Anatomy for…3.5 seasons!!! I couldn’t stop…until school started 😦

    These cookies look enormous!! Am glad it worked using frosting in the cookies…I always wondered about cookies, specially since you know with cake balls frosting works great…good to know it works too 🙂

    1. Yes. Fair warning, these cookies are quite large. I would only make a full recipe if you can give some away.

      And I’m quite excited to have another use for frosting! Somehow I always end up with a tupperware of leftover frosting and can never figure out what to do with it. Except eat it with a spoon, of course.

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one Netflix has sucked in! Thanks for reading!!

    1. I only made them last night, and I’m pretty sure I already am. I made a full recipe so I could give a few dozen away… but I might just keep them all to myself. 🙂

  2. I’m going to defend you having a soul with two examples: NOT team Volchek, and NOT team Chair (but I do question your judgment rooting for Dair…). Love these cookies and love you!

Leave a Reply

