Happy birthday blogbaby!

Ok, now that I’ve stopped shoveling popcorn into my face for 5 seconds, I can type.  Seriously.  Was that stress eating?  I don’t even know.  So unattractive.

An inordinate number of birthdays has occurred since we started the year (most importantly, Kate’s), and now it’s Fleur-de-Licious’s 1st birthday!  Can you believe it?  (probs)  Can I believe it? (no)

Let’s see…1 year ago it was snowing.  I made Compost Cookies.  I lived in Wichita Falls with the Weatherman.  I was a Victoria’s Secret Angel (yes, a model, haven’t you seen me in the new commercials?) and a hostess.  Today, it was 72 degrees.  I’m halfway through my 1st year of med school.  I’m sitting in my own apartment in Dallas, staring at this:

You can’t even read that.  I can’t really either, which is unfortunate for my testing future. Anyways.

In the past year, Kate joined in!  And thank goodness gracious for Kate.  Fleur-de-Licious probs would have died a long, painful death in which I regressed to only posting once every 3 leap years…if not for Kate!  Hooray Kate!

I love blogging about food.   I love reading other people’s blogs about food.  I love discovering new blogs about food.  (Have you figured out why I run yet?  Oh.  The food.)  I love food.  Healthy food.  Unhealthy food.  Super unhealthy food.  Dessert-y food.  Candy food.  Dinner food.

(Sometimes, when you read the same word in a row too many times, it starts to not look like a word anymore.  Hmmm.  FOOD.)

For blogbaby’s birthday, I made some cookies.  I didn’t make cake…mostly because I didn’t want to make cake.  And I’m the boss of this post.  I’ve been thinking a lot about these cookies from the February Martha Stewart Living for a couple of weeks now.  Mostly I’ve been thinking about how I wanted to fill them with this phenomenal chocolate Sarah sent me from Spain.


I was so excited to receive it in the mail!  Even surrounded by all of the Swiss brands of chocolate, Suchard (French, I think) made my favorite candies when I was in Switz – although Callier was a close second.  It’s what I bought when I missed my train home after a long day that involved a near-kidnapping (sort of (not really (I’ll tell you later))).  It’s the only thing I bought in CDG airport on the way home…I bought 4 pieces of my favorite chocolates, and rationed them out once I got home.  Sadly, 3 1/2 years later, those 4 pieces are gone.

I knew the slight hazelnutty flavor and the ridiculous creaminess of the chocolate would go wonderfully with the coconut thumbprints.  I was right!  The cookies are kind of like shortbread…crisp on the outside, buttery on the inside.  The coconut gets a little toasty.  All so delicious.  In the magazine, they’re filled with salted caramel, which would also be delicious…you can try that, or your own favorite chocolate bar!

Coconut Thumbprints with Favorite Chocolate! (or whatever) Filling

Makes about 40 cookies (I think mine were a little larger than called for)

Ingredients:
3 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs, separated with egg whites lightly beaten in a small bowl
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
12 ounces sweetened coconut flakes, in a shallow bowl
About 10 oz of your favorite chocolate, chopped coarsely
1/2 cup heavy cream
Flaked sea salt for topping, optional

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F with a rack in the middle position.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
2. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and sugar on medium-high until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Beat in the egg yolks until thoroughly combined (note: Martha’s recipe doesn’t use eggs in the cookies, but I wanted them to be slightly more chewy; without them they’ll be crisper).  Beat in the vanilla and the salt.  Gradually add the flour, mixing on low until just incorporated.
3. Press small scoops of dough into 1 1/4 inch balls, dipping each in the egg whites, then rolling in the coconut flakes.  Place dough balls on prepared baking sheets about 1 inch apart.  Using your fingertip or the end of a wooden spoon, press down lightly in the middle of each ball to make an indentation.
4. Bake cookies for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and reform the indentation (this time it’s best to use the wooden spoon…).  Switch positions of cookie sheets, then bake cookies for 8 to 9 more minutes.  Let cool on pan for 1 minute, then remove to a wire rack.
5. While the cookies are baking, slowly melt the chocolate and the cream in a small saucepan or in the microwave.  Melt just until stir-able and combined.  When the cookies are done, immediately spoon enough chocolate into each cookie to fill the indentation (the chocolate will set as it cools).  If using, lightly sprinkle sea salt over the tops of the cookies.  Cookies will keep in an airtight container for 2 days.

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart Living Feb 2012 (I don’t think it’s online yet)

I think these cookies would make a lovely Valentine’s Day gift 🙂  Even if they’re not pink.  Thanks for reading, happy baking!

4 comments

  1. A one-year milestone is really cool. I can’t get over how much your life has changed in only 12 months. It’s staggering. You’re very lucky to have Kate but you are also lucky that you’re taking charge of your life. Well done!

Leave a Reply

