Raspberry Coffeecake Muffins

So you can direct your envy toward the proper blogger, Kate is the lucky duck who has been in Costa Rica.  Do not be envious of me.  I’m jealous of Kate’s vacay, and you should be too.  Now.  Down to the important business at hand.

Is there anyone out there that enjoys the sound of their own recorded voice?  Seriously.  Do these people exist?

I hate having to record a new voicemail greeting and having it played back to me.  I sound like a 6 year old child.  As you can imagine, this just shatters the image I have of myself as a mature (lolz) and articulate (this blog begs to differ) 20-something. 


Of course if you’re just my internet friend, you don’t know what my voice sounds like (hopefully (it might be creepy if you did (please don’t tell me if you do))). So you’re welcome to continue to think that I sound articulate and mature when I open my mouth.  (Except, truth, usually it’s just a jumble of words and phrases like, “I get coffee” and “free food in there?”)

So, knowing this small but intense hatred I have for my recorded voice, you can imagine how much fun I had this past Wednesday.  Sitting with 5 of my esteemed and better-voiced peers, my physician mentor, and a crazy psychiatrist advisor lady, we all watched videos of each other taking a patient history from a standardized patient.  An 8 minute history.  8.  Min.  Utes.


Now, when we’re in there, taking the history, 8 minutes is like 6.2 microseconds, and all of a sudden you realize you made it halfway through your checklist and neglected to find out about these important things like family history, medication allergies, social history.  You know.  The questions you hate answering but doctors love asking.  But when you’re watching yourself – watching yourself consciously adjust your posture so you’re not slouching on camera, watching your cheeks get a little pink – and more devastating, HEARING yourself for 8 minutes…it pretty much feels like weeks. And weeks.  And weeks. Seasons must be changing outside.

Good lord I hate it.  So I made these muffins for all of us, because what do you do when you hate something?  You eat something you like.


That is most likely an inappropriate stress/emotional response or whatevs.  Buuuuuut my 5 peers seemed to be ok with it.

You can make these without the jam for just coffeecake muffins and they’re equally fab.  Something I learned: try not to let the jam get all on the sides of the muffin tin when you swirl in on, i.e. try to bury it in the batter.  Otherwise removing the muffins from the pan will be a little frustrating.

Disclaimer: I didn’t taste these because of the cleanse (birthday this weekend means brief cleanse break!) but I’ve made the recipe before and my classmates liked them, so I feel ok posting it!

Raspberry Coffeecake Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients:
1/2 cup pecans or walnuts (optional)
1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar (I used light)
1 tsp cinnamon
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup (= 1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces and softened
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup sour cream (I like using regular to bake with, but low fat would probs work)
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup raspberry jam, warmed slightly

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F with a rack in the middle position.  Grease a 12-cup muffin tin (regular size) and set aside.
2. In the bowl of a food processor, process nuts if using, brown sugar, and cinnamon for 10 1-second pulses.  Transfer the mixture to a medium bowl, set aside.  (You can also chop the nuts by hand and stir them together with the other ingredients.)
3.  In a small bowl, whisk together the sour cream, egg, and vanilla extract.  Set aside.  In the bowl of the food processor, combine the flour, granulated sugar, and salt.  Pulse for 5 1-second pulses.  Add the butter and process for 8 1-second pulses until the butter is the size of oats.  Remove 1/2 cup of this mixture and add it to the brown sugar mixture to make streusel.  Stir to combine.
4. Add baking powder and baking soda to flour mixture and process for 5 1-second pulses.  Add the sour cream mixture to the food process and process for 5 1-second pulses until the dry ingredients are just moistened.
5. Add 3/4 cup of the streusel mixture and process in pulses just until the streusel is evenly distributed through the batter.
(To do without a food processor, just proceed with the same steps using the wire whisk attachment on an electric mixer, mixing at medium-high speed briefly.  I like the one-bowl food processor approach!)
6. Divide the batter among the prepared muffin cups.  Put about 1/2 tsp of jam on top of the batter in each cup; swirl it in carefully with a small knife trying to keep it from touching the edges of the pan.  Sprinkle a scant TBS of the streusel over each muffin cup and press lightly to adhere.
7. Bake muffins for about 16 to 18 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with several crumbs.  Better to underbake than overbake in this case.  Allow the muffins to cool in the pan on a wire rack for about 3 minutes.  Run a thin paring knife around the edges of each to loosen, then allow to cool on the wire rack.  Serve warm or at room temperature.  Muffins will keep sealed tightly at room temp for 2 days.

Recipe adapted from Baking Illustrated

Thanks for reading, happy baking, and have a fabulous weekend!

2 comments

  1. Hahaha ‘crazy psychiatrist’. I had to do that for my clinical psych class, luckily we just had to write a large paper on X patient with XYZ psych problems…phew I too sound like a toddler on the phone hahaha

    Good tip about burying the jam inside the batter…wish I’d know that last night.
    But these muffins look great I was making blueberry muffins last night and…well I have to redo the recipe…let’s just say that lol. I am going to try making these too they sound and look yumilish 🙂

Leave a Reply

