Chocolate and Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Cupcakes with Marshmallow Creme Frosting

Truth-telling time: I’m in Costa Rica right now.

Like right this very minute.

It’s kind of awesome. 

First, you’re probably all, what?! Why are you even blogging then, Kate? Go soak up the awesomeness that is Costa Rica.

And I so appreciate your concern.

But I can assure you that I am doing just that. But it is nighttime. And I just got back from an epic day of adventuring in the rainforests and the volcanoes and I just maybe wanna talk. To you. If that’s okay, of course.

Second, you’re probably like, what?! How do you even have anything to blog about? You’re staying in a hotel. Those don’t even have kitchens.

This is true. I hate to upset you or anything, but I’m going to let you in on a little secret. Sometimes it takes me awhile to post about the things I bake.

Like  a whole week and a trip to another country awhile. I might be a procrastinator. We learn more about each other every day!

So, now that those burning questions are answered… Cupcakes!

I made these for the New Year’s Eve Party we threw at The Accountant’s house. They were amazing, of course. Everything Joy the Baker does is amazing.

I’m not going to replicate the recipe here because I followed it literally step-by-step. So, if you wanna make these sinfully amazing things, mosey on over to Joy’s blog and check out the recipe there!

A couple of notes: The base of these cupcakes is now my go-to chocolate cupcake recipe. They are amazing and moist and delicious. Also, make sure you melt the sugar ALL THE WAY when making the marshmallow creme. Don’t be shy about the heat and don’t get impatient. I had to remake it because I was both and my creme wouldn’t get stiff enough to pipe. So don’t be like me, basically.

Fun fact: I tweeted I was going to make these cupcakes and Joy personally tweeted me back. It made my life. Obvi.

Okay, back to Costa Rican living. In honor of my current home (for the next six days), pura vida! Bake with love!

 

4 comments

  1. Ah they look great! I really want to make these. Unfortunately, I don’t have the equipment (read: a stand mixer) to make the lovely marshmallow creme.

    1. Sorry for being so late with this, but I didn’t have my stand mixer either. I used a food processor instead. You might be able to get away with a hand-mixer too, just might take a little while longer. Thanks for stopping by!!

  2. I made these mini for my daughter’s class last year. Yes, o yes, Joy is the best. Are you going to be able to see her for a book signing? I should be able to go that first day, I am so excited! You guys are pretty great too, you are the first blog I followed upon joining wordpress last August.

    1. She is, isn’t she!? I wanna be Joy when I grow up. I surprisingly haven’t checked out the book tour dates yet, but now i’ll make it a priority!

      And thanks! So glad that you enjoy the blog because we totally enjoy it too! You have excellent taste. 🙂

Leave a Reply

