Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Cream Cheese Frosting

Happy time between Christmas and New Years!

I’ve been busy. Doing things that are important. Clearly.

These whoopie pies are merely one of those things.

Exhibit A: I helped make Christmas dinner. It was pretty delicious, if I do say so myself. I made this. And this. And also this.

Exhibit B: I spent some quality time with quite a looker.

Exhibit C: I hung out with some cool people. Like my family. Yeah, I’m weird and like my family even though I don’t have to.

Exhibit D: I got some sweet presents! I cleaned up in the baking department this year. The Accountant’s family got me cookie scoops. And pie weights and a silpat mat and a pastry blender! My sister got me a mandolin. And a pretty scraper! My other sister got me the other Baked cookbook! I think you probably realize how excited I am about all of these things.

Exhibit E: Continuing on my obsession with all things Baked, I made yet another delicious thing out of their first cookbook. The men of Baked can do no wrong. Seriously.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Cream Cheese Frosting

Makes 12-18 whoopie pies, depending on the size

Ingredients 

For the Cookies

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 tablespoons cinnamon

1 tablespoon ginger

1 tablespoon cloves

2 cups firmly packed brown sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

3 cups chilled pumpkin puree

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

For the Frosting 

3 cups powdered sugar

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

8 oz cream cheese, softened

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

For the Cookies

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Whisk together flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves in a bowl. Set aside.
  3. Whisk together sugar and oil. Add pumpkin puree and combine thoroughly. Whisk in eggs and vanilla.
  4. Pour dry ingredients over pumpkin mixture and whisk together til combined.
  5. Drop heaping tablespoons onto baking sheets, 1 inch apart. The wonderful men of Baked say to bake these until 10 or 12 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. They felt a little undercooked to me at that point, so I baked them for another 5ish minutes. Then again, my oven is a bit weird here, so yours could be done in 10-12 minutes. Just feel it out.
  6. Let the cookies cool completely on the pan. Make the frosting!

For the Frosting 

  1. Beat the butter until smooth. Add the cream cheese and beat til combined and there are no visible lumps.
  2. Combine with the powdered sugar and vanilla.

Assemble the Pies

  1. Place a large dollop of frosting on the flat side of one of the cookies.
  2. Place another cookie, flat side to the frosting, on top. Voila! Whoopie Pie!
  3. You’ll wanna keep these in the fridge.

Recipe from Baked.

So, you should really think about getting the Baked cookbooks. They’re awesome. And awesome people have them. I absolutely cannot wait to make every recipe in them.

Hope y’all had/are having happy holidays! Bake with love!

Leave a Reply

