Baked’s Brewer’s Blondies

So these aren’t really very related to the holidays. My To-Bake List is pretty backed up. So it’s not very seasonal. Oops.

I can say it is very delish, though. Super delish even. Not so oops.

After seven days on winter break, my brain is kinda dead. I don’t have much to say. But I do have baked goods to offer.

Winter break in law school is an exercise in laziness. Like epic, epic laziness.

Typical day? Wake up whenever.

Like maybe nine. Or like noon. Or maybe two. I dunno. I’m on break. It’s not my job to look at clocks.

Then, cuddle in bed with my cat until she decides it’s time to wake up. This pretty much guarantees I will be in bed until like three. Then she starts bugging me for dinner and I start getting hungry.

Sometimes, I get up and drink some water and get dressed and go to yoga. Sometimes, I get up and drink some water and eat something and then get back in bed and watch some tv on the internet.

Sometimes I put on real pants and go to Sonic. Most times I don’t.

All the times, I get out of bed to eat dinner with my dad. Then I promptly get back in bed. As Brian McKnight would say, “repeat steps one through three.” Or however many steps that was… Like I said, I’m on winter break. It’s not my job to count things accurately.

Life is rough. I know.

Before you judge me, I promise you that my brain is totally incapable of doing anything else for at least another three days.

Except for baking. My brain is not only always capable of baking but also always wants to bake.  So I baked these last night when I got back from yoga and before I got back into bed.

Brewer’s Blondies

Makes  a 9×13 pan

Ingredients 

2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoon malted milk powder

14 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened

1 3/4 cups firmly packed dark brown sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

3/4 cup malted milk balls, coarsely chopped (I used Whoppers)

3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

3/4 walnuts, toasted and chopped

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 9×13 pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and malted milk powder. Set your dry ingredients aside.
  3. Cream together your butter and brown sugar. Add your eggs and vanilla. Mix until fully combined.
  4. Add half the flour and mix until just combined. Add the remaining flour and mix again until just combined.
  5. Combine your dough with malted milk balls, chocolate chips, and walnuts. Don’t worry if your mixture feels more like cookie dough than batter. It freaked me out too, but Baked says that “the mixture will be thick.”
  6. Move the mixture into the greased pan and spread it evenly.
  7. Bake in the oven for 25 to 30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Mine took another 10ish minutes before it felt done. My oven was a little bit wonky, though, so yours might be perfect after 25-30 minutes. The blondies might feel a little bit undercooked, but don’t worry about it too much if the toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Let the blondies cool for at least 20 minutes before cutting into them. They are delish warm and cool. They’ll keep for about 3 days.

Recipe from Baked.

So yummy. So awesome. Make ’em, love ’em. Have a lovely rest of the holidays!

I’m gonna get back to cuddling with my cat now. Bake with love!

3 comments

  1. These are (were) awesome! I may have (there is no proof, only circumstantial evidence) eaten one or two of these for breakfast one morning before heading to the office. And there is another box of Whoppers sitting on the counter – maybe I’ll bake the next batch. Really, they’re good….

  2. MMMMM Kate–I made these this week and they were soooooo yummy! Two thumbs up 🙂 hope the break from law school has been wonderfully lazy and relaxing! good luck this semester!

    1. sorry for the seriously delayed response, but I’m so glad you enjoyed them!! hope your break was as worthless and amazing as mine, ms. lawren. 🙂 good luck to you too!!

Leave a Reply

