Vanilla Marshmallows

Hey, look! We’re fulfilling our promise to make up our extended absence to you! Three posts in four days. Whatup.

So, I’m gonna give you a rundown of what I’ve been up to that made me so busy I couldn’t blog. Or go to yoga. Or dress myself in anything not made of spandex. Or feed myself properly. Or sleep the right amount. Or be a functional human in any sense of the word.

Sounds fun, right?! Ready. Go!

I took five law school finals. FIVE. If there’s one thing I could go back and tell my 4-months-younger self, it would be “Hey, maybe don’t take five finals.” Five might not seem like that many, but you only take three a semester your first year. So five is quite a leap. And is quite stupid. Don’t ever do it. Everevereverever. Ever.

Stovetop and I are reunited. And it feels so gooood.

I got sick. Because nothing is more fun than having to study when all your body wants and needs is sleep. Shout out to our wonderful readers who came to my rescue with awesome soothing suggestions (Ginger Tea is magic, y’all) and an amazing lemon chicken soup that probably cures any illness. So delicious and so comforting and so awesome. Y’all are really the best.

I drank four Red Bulls in five days. Never have I ever: used Red Bull to get through a busy patch of school. But I got in over my head this semester, apparently (see above).

I showered pretty regularly. This is something I consider very impressive.

I got to see The Accountant! After 6 weeks of studying isolation, I got to pretend like I knew people and had a boyfriend this past weekend. In the words of Hannah, “The [Accountant] is such a nice boy. And I am such a…. [law] student.” Basically, the past three weeks, he was lucky to get a text message telling him I was still alive every couple of days. And yet, he still got me the best Christmas present EVER:

It's so pretty. It's. so. pretty.

Any of our twitter followers will remember that I tweeted a link to Amazon a few weeks ago when it had a Kitchenaid stand mixer on sale. The Accountant is not on twitter, but he saw that sale too. And knew that there was nothing more in the world I wanted than that mixer on my counter. And now it is on my counter. And it is so beautiful.

And I made marshmallows with it. It was the best.

Vanilla Marshmallows

Makes about 48 marshmallows

Ingredients

3 tablespoons unflavored powdered gelatin (you can also use 12 gelatin sheets if you’re fancy)

2 cups granulated sugar

1 cup light corn syrup

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup sifted powdered sugar (plus more for dusting)

Directions

  1. Grease a 9 x 13 pan. Make sure you grease it well. Marshmallows stuck to your pan would be such a bummer.
  2. Gelatin sheets: Put the gelatin sheets in a large-ish heatproof bowl and fill with very cold water. You might even want to put some ice in the bowl to make sure it stays cold. Set aside. Powdered gelatin: Place the powdered gelatin in a bowl with 3/4 cup cold water. Set aside.
  3. In a saucepan, combine the sugar, 1/2 cup of corn syrup and 1/2 cup water. Be gentle as you stir so you don’t splash the sides of the pan. Cook over medium-high heat with a candy thermometer on the side of the saucepan.
  4. Fill another saucepan about halfway with water and place on medium-low heat.
  5. Place remaining corn syrup in a bowl and set aside.
  6. When the saucepan with water reaches about 220° (a little past boiling), place the gelatin over the water to create a double boiler. For gelatin sheets: drain water and quickly wring out the gelatin sheets. For powdered gelatin: place directly on double boiler. Stir until the gelatin is completely melted. Remove from heat.
  7. Turn your mixer on low and slowly pour the gelatin into the corn syrup. Keep the mixer on low until your sugar has reached the right temperature.
  8. Speaking of, bring the sugar mixer to between 235° and 240°F and remove from heat. Take out the candy thermometer.
  9. Turn up the mixer to medium for 1 minute and then slowly begin adding the sugar mixture. When you have added all of the sugar mixture, turn the mixer to medium-high and beat for another 5ish minutes. You want the mixture to get light and fluffy.
  10. Add vanilla and salt and turn the mixer up to its highest setting for 1 minute.
  11. Now, turn off the mixer and quickly transfer the mixture to the greased pan. Spread the mixture evenly. Dust with sifted powdered sugar. Let sit for 6 hours.
  12. Run a knife around the edges of the pan. Turn the pan onto a surface dusted with sifted powdered sugar. The marshmallows might need a little coaxing out of the pan.
  13. Place 1/2 cup of sifted powdered sugar in a bowl.
  14. Slice into a 6 x 8 grid. Roll each marshmallow in confectioner’s sugar.

These will keep in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

Recipe from the wonderful men of Baked.

Pay no attention to the fact that these are in no way uniform.

You haven’t lived until you’ve eaten a homemade marshmallow. At first, it’s kinda weird because they taste so different from store-bought marshmallows. But eat another one. I promise, you’ll start to LOVE them. I may or may not have eaten 10 of these in one day.

It’s four days til Christmas! Bake with love!

6 comments

  1. Awww, The Accountant gets a big thumbs up from me. And that is a beautiful mixer. Mine gets used several times a week! So glad you’re back in the land of the living now.

    (hey, maybe you should make marshmallows to feed Daddy….)

    1. I’m so glad you approve. I had a serious internal debate about whether to bring it to Dallas or not because I just really really want to bake with it all the time! And don’t worry, the marshmallows made the trek to Dallas and already made Daddy eat a few 🙂

Leave a Reply

