Salted Caramel Cookies

Oh… hey, you. Do you come here often? That’s cool. I used to, too.  It’s been a little while since I’ve been back, though.

Soooorry. As you may have guessed (because you’re so smart), it’s finals time. At least in law school it is. Which means that I now live, eat, sleep, and breathe words on pages about property disposition and maritime negligence and prior restraints on publications and proportionality in death penalty cases.

It’s so super fun, y’all. Believe me.

The other night, though, I decided to live and eat something else. Like these cookies. I am so glad I did.

Here’s a little taste of what I’m looking at at least 8 hours a day lately.

The Community Presumption rules all

If you wanna know something about how your property will be passed if you die, I can (hopefully) tell you.

Also, if you’re injured on a boat, I can tell you who, how, and where to sue.

Boat law is actually more fun than wills & estates

Seriously, though, admiralty is kinda insane. Plus the rules are way less involved than intestacy laws and federal estate tax analysis.

Are you getting really jealous yet? Are you typing your personal statement for your law school application as we speak? I don’t blame you. This stuff is riveting.

I know you probably want to read screenshots of my outlines all night, but now I want to show you pretty pictures of cookies and stuff.

start with some of this...

The idea for these cookies came while I was diligently outlining for my Free Speech class. The history of libertarian radicals in the United States is WILD. But somehow, my mind wandered to the jar of salted caramel that had been sitting lonely in my fridge for a little while. What in the world could I do with it other than make cupcakes or put it on ice cream?

And then it hit me. Sugar cookie recipe + salted caramel = yum. The first amendment says so. Ask the Supreme Court. They’ll (probably) back me up on this one.

Also, if you die at sea, you can totally ask for these cookies as a remedy. Death on the High Seas Act most definitely does (not) say that.

Basically, what I’m saying is, all of my studying has taught me that you are legally obligated to bake and enjoy these cookies. Trust me, I’m (almost) a lawyer.

Salted Caramel Cookies

Makes about 16 large cookies

Ingredients 

2 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

4 tablespoons butter, room temperature

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup salted caramel (plus maybe a little more depending on your consistency)

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Whisk together dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar. The ratio here is a little different than in other cookies, so it might not be as light and fluffy as you’re used to. It’s cool. Don’t freak out about it.
  3. Add egg and vanilla and beat til combined. Add salted caramel and mix til well incorporated.
  4. Add dry ingredients. You might need to add more salted caramel to fix the consistency (like 1-2 more tablespoons. Nothing crazy). The dough should be firm without being dry.
  5. Drop mounds of dough, about two tablespoons each, onto a baking sheet about 3-4 inches apart. Sprinkle with a little sugar and some rock salt. Don’t be shy with the rock salt. It helps to bring out the caramel flavor.
  6. Bake for about 18-20 minutes or until cookies are firm and starting to brown around the edges. This is going to be a bit harder than with normal sugar cookies since the dough is already brown-ish. Just pay attention to them and you’ll figure it out.
  7. Let the cookies cool for 5ish minutes on the cookie sheet. Then move to a rack until fully cool.

Recipe based off of Martha Stewart‘s sugar cookies. 

It smelled absolutely amazing in my apartment as these were baking. The depth of flavor that the salted caramel brings is pretty awesome. The cookies are chewy, and the best mix of salty and sweet. To summarize: they’re so delicious. I’m kinda all about them. And I am so, so sad that I only have one left. I want to eat these for the rest of my life.

Oh! And if you need a recipe for salted caramel, I use Baked’s recipe. It’s pretty easy and awesome. And Hannah does a wonderful job of explaining how to make it.

It’s almost Thanksgiving! Bake with love!

4 comments

    1. Thank you!! These cookies are one of my favorite ways to use salted caramel (other than just eating it straight…). So glad you stopped by!
      -k

Leave a Reply

