Sweet Potato Carrot Ginger Soup

Questa ragazza sta per Italia!

Oh, hey. Just brushing up on my Italian.

Wanna know why? Becauuuuse, “this girl is going to Italy!!!!!!!!!!!” Is what that says. Google Translate it if you don’t believe me.

Fall of 2012, I’m taking the city of Milan by storm. Watch out.

Study Abroad 2.0: Bigger, law classier, more Italian.

The fact that I’m going to Italy(!!!!!!!) next fall has nothing to do with this soup. In fact, I made this soup before I knew I had been accepted to study abroad the fall of my 3L year. Just a happy coincidence.

But seriously. Me. Italy. Fall. Awesome.

Things I’m looking forward to: Really good pasta. Really good wine. Really accessible H&Ms. Really acceptable hat-wearing. Really easy European travel.

Before

Things I’m maybe a little bummed about: Leaving my cat with someone for a semester. Having to put my yoga practice on hold for four months. The forreals Skype-only relationship with The Accountant for the semester. The very real possibility I may not have my own kitchen for four months. The fact that my Milan-street catwalk will be obstructed by supermodels. Coca-Cola Light.

After.

Let’s not dwell on those.

Back to things that are going to be the best: Getting mistaken for a supermodel and walking in my very first fashion show. So many boots all the time. Gelato in my face. European art museums. The probably-going-to-be-AWESOME exchange rate. Really good pasta. Really good wine. Traveling. Learning a new language. Being able to walk everywhere. Cheese. Really good wine. Really good wine. Really good wine.

Pros are really outweighing cons right now as you can see.

Sweet Potato Carrot Ginger Soup

Makes 6-7 cups of soup.

Ingredients 

1 tablespoon butter

1 cup diced yellow onion (about 1 medium onion)

3 tablespoons minced ginger

5 cups cubed sweet potatoes (about 2 sweet potatoes)

1 cup chopped carrots

3 cups vegetable broth

3 cups water

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon cloves

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Melt butter in a *large* pot over medium heat. Add onions and cook until tender, about 5 minutes. Add the ginger and cook for a bit longer until your kitchen starts to smell like ginger, another 3 or 4 minutes.
  2. Add your sweet potatoes, carrots, and spices.
  3. Pour broth and water into the pot. Stir. Cover the pot, reduce the heat, and allow the mixture to simmer until the sweet potatoes and carrots are tender. For me, this took between 35 and 40 minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and allow to cool for at least 15 minutes.
  5. If you have an immersion blender, I’m jealous. Use it. If not, pour about half the soup into a regular blender and blend until smooth. Do again for the remaining half.
  6. Eat it!

Recipe inspired by Ryan Bakes and Joy the Baker.

If you want this soup to be a little creamier, I would suggest replacing some of the water with milk  or even just adding 1/2 cup of plain yogurt. Don’t forget to season with salt and pepper. It helps to counteract the natural sweetness of the sweet potatoes and carrots and keeps this soup on the savory side. Not that a sweet soup would be a bad thing. But just a heads up.

Also, sorry for my savory kick lately. I’ll get back to posting the good stuff full of butter and flour.

Y’all, next week is Thanksgiving. What the what?! Bake with love!!

Leave a Reply

