Pumpkin Bread

My life has taken a turn for the weird…or I guess the weirder.

Two weeks ago I dressed up as the Swedish Chef for Halloween.  Giant eyebrows and all.


I have spent the entire past week dissecting…uh…stuff…down there.  Everyday is an adventure.

Last night I could be seen wandering around Wal-Mart wearing denim-on-denim, plus a puffy vest.  (So, in other words, I blended into the Wal-Mart crowd.)  I was dressed as Marty McFly people, for an 80s party, half of which was spent at a roller rink, where small children kept speeding past me as I clung to the wall.

So.  Yeah.  Need some normalcy.  Some sweatpants, and some coffee, and…dare I say it?  Some studying?  Yeah.  That = normalcy.


This pumpkin bread is pretty normal.  Is that an insult to my pumpkin bread?  What I mean to say is, I didn’t go crazy on it.  Just a good, classy, loaf of pumpkin bread.

With lots of cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top, because I take any chance I get to make all foods taste like Cinnamon Toast Crunch.

Pumpkin bread says happy fall!  It says don’t let Thanksgiving stress you out, eat pumpkin bread instead!  It says let today be simpler.  Sleep some.  Eat some.  Play some.


Sounds nice, right?

Have a fabulous weekend everyone 🙂

Pumpkin Bread

Makes 1 loaf, about 10 to 12 servings

Ingredients:
1 2/3 (slightly less than 3/4 actually) cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 2/3 cup pumpkin puree

2 TBS granulated sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 with a rack in the center position.  Grease a 9×5-inch loaf pan and set aside.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, spices, and 1 cup sugar.  Whisk in the oil, egg, and vanilla, then stir in the pumpkin puree until completely incorporated.  Pour batter into prepared pan.
3. Combine the 2 TBS sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon in a small bowl.  Sprinkle evenly over the top of the batter.  Bake bread until it springs back when pressed lightly, or a tester inserted in the middle comes out clean, about 45 to 55 minutes.  Let bread cool in pan on rack for about 10 minutes, then turn out onto the rack to cool completely.  Bread will keep, wrapped tightly at room temperature for 3 days.  (You can also wrap it tightly and freeze in a freezer-safe ziploc for 1 month.)

Recipe adapted from Cooking Light

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

3 comments

    1. Hi Marly –
      It’s not a typo, but I’ll go ahead and change it to 1 1/2 tsp since that’s an easier measurement. Thanks for reading!
      ~ Hannah

Leave a Reply

