Snickerdoodles

Netflix is my nemesis.

I have access to a Netflix streaming account. I do not have access to much self-discipline.

As you can imagine, this is a terrible combination. Especially if you’re in your second year of law school.

I’m a TV junkie. I am. I’m not really that ashamed to admit it.

There’s something so awesome to me about being able to turn your brain off for an hour or two. Just escape into something totally fictional and/or ridiculous.

This is also something I LOVE about baking. It gives me an excuse to do nothing but focus on what I decided to bake for a little while. Though, I would venture to say baking is neither fictional nor ridiculous. But these are just technicalities.

Taking time to do these things was something I had to learn to do. Very slowly. In my first year of law school.

Turns out it is much more productive for me to take a break and channel my energy into not-reading than it is for me to continue to sit in a very depressingly quiet library. Who knew?

cinnamon sugar makes everything better

This is all fine and good. If I had the discipline to make my TV/baking adventures only last one or two hours.ย Again, I have this thing called Netflix. Netflix has entire TV series streaming. Can you see where this is going?

It went to an intense involvement with Felicity. I am now very invested in Felicity. She has taken over my life.

I was even watching an episode of Felicity as I baked these snickerdoodles. Couldn’t even pull myself away for an hour.

Snickerdoodles

Ingredients

2 3/4 cups all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 stick (8 tbsp) unsalted butter

1/2 cup shortening

1 3/4 cup granulated sugar (more if needed)

2 large eggs

2 tablespoons ground cinnamon (more if needed)

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 400ยฐF.
  2. Mix together the dry ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.
  3. Cream together butter, shortening, and 1 1/2 cups sugar. Mix until light and fluffy (2 minutes).
  4. Add eggs and mix until they are combined into the batter.
  5. Add dry ingredients, and again, mix to combine.
  6. In a small bowl, combine the remaining sugar and the cinnamon. This is the mixture you will roll your cookie dough in.
  7. Roll the dough into balls. Transfer to the cinnamon sugar mixture, and make sure the dough is completely covered. Then transfer to the baking sheet. Leave about 2 inches between the cookies. The recipe says these will spread like crazy, but mine didn’t. But I would trust Martha on this one. Leave space for them to spread.
  8. Bake for about 10 minutes or until the cookies are set in the center. The cookies will crack, but not brown. So don’t wait for them to brown or you’ll get stuck with burnt snickerdoodles (boo).
  9. Remove from the oven and let cool on the sheet for 5 minutes. Transfer to to a wire rack to cool completely.

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart.

Dad, if you’re reading this, this is not affecting my ability to get my work done at all. Promise. Pinky swear.

Parting note: the Roommate told me she thinks these are her favorite thing I’ve ever baked. Considering how many things I bake, that’s a pretty resounding endorsement. Happy start to the week, and bake with love!

12 comments

  1. I love snickerdoodles. These look perfect, and now thanks to your roommate’s comment I must try this recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I love snickerdoodles too! I feel like they’re an underappreciated cookie… Hope you enjoy these as much as we did! Thanks for reading!

    1. Oh man, there are so many seasons of Frasier. Definitely dangerous… definitely something I’m not allowed to start watching. Glad you see the value in both snickerdoodles and Netflix, too! It’s good to know I’m not alone. Thanks for reading!!

  2. In my extremely unscientific analysis, I’ve found that college students confronted with bake sales are very susceptible to “cookies that grandma used to make.” Snickerdoodles, peanut butter kisses, and straight up peanut butter sell like hotcakes to homesick kids. Just in case you need to know this.

    Your blog posts always send my brain off on random tangents, Kate.

    (Snickerdoodles are also my favorite cookie ever.)

    1. I don’t know if that’s a good effect for a blog post to have or not. But yes! I actually thought of you when I was baking these because I know how much you love them. I also totally thought of Grandma too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading!!

  3. I mean, how could you not be invested with all that Noel-Ben drama?
    Love snickerdoodles! But not enough to follow them to college… just saying.

  4. Woah. You are watching Felicity now? I was not aware of this. Yikes.

    Spoiler alert: She cuts her hair off. I have been told that it caused major disputes between people of which was better. That is my lasting memory of Felicity.

    (Kate may also watch True Life of an American Teenager, the Vampire’s Diary thing, Lifetime movie channel, and so many others…)

Leave a Reply

