Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies

Okay, seriously, I promise I’ll get better about the frequency of my posts. School is about to settle down, and I’ll get to focus on the important things. Like baking. And writing about baking on this blog. Glad we’ve talked about it.

With that out of the way, let’s transition to the sharing portion of this post. I’m gonna tell you something about myself. I hope it’s interesting. Here goes nothing…

My junior year of college, I decided to study abroad. I had never been out of the country before, but figured, hey! going for the first time for four months can’t be a bad idea. Go big or go home. Anyway, I went to Barcelona, Spain. And it was so incredibly divine. In the span of four months, I fell in love with all things Spanish, became practically fluent in another language, saw the inspiration for my first tattoo in a fantastic museum, and drank so much of the best 3E-wine money could buy. Seriously. Go to Spain if you have a chance. It will change your life.

For all of the wonderful things about Spain (tapas, incredible red wine, Gaudi, Miro, Picasso, an easygoing lifestyle etc etc etc), though, there was one HUGE problem I had. One thing that would actually keep me from moving and pretending I’ve always been a Spaniard. Question: What could possibly keep me from doing something so awesome?

there's something quite satisfying about this step

Answer: Peanut Butter.

Seriously. You had to sell a kidney on the black market to get your hands on a spoonful. It was really traumatic.

You’re probably thinking, “But, Kate, you had endless supplies of Nutella! Don’t get greedy!” And you know, Nutella is wonderful. But when ALL you want in the world is a peanut butter sandwich… or peanut butter on your toast… or a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, Nutella just doesn’t cut it. It’s wonderful in its own right, but it is no substitute for the perfection of peanut butter. My withdrawal got so bad that my sister (because she’s awesome) sent me a care package which contained some Easy Mac (no cheddar cheese either. But that’s a post for another day), some candy corn (best part of October), and a huge jar of peanut butter.

The jar of peanut butter lasted about a week. Self control is not a strong suit of mine…

I may have eaten all of these promptly after this photo was taken.

Needless to say, peanut butter is its own food group in my view. So, when I went to bake cookies to celebrate the arrival of my newest nephew (welcome to the world, T!), and my sister suggested peanut butter cookies, I jumped ALL over it.

Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies

Makes about 3 dozen

Ingredients 

1/2 cup granulated sugar (plus a few tablespoons for pressing)

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

3/4 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup shortening

2 tbsp soy milk (more if dough seems dry)

1 tbsp corn starch

1 1/4 cup all purpose flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

Directions

  1. Cream together sugars, peanut butter, shortening. Mix in soy milk.
  2. Sift together dry ingredients, and add to wet ingredients.
  3. Cover dough and chill until firm. This can take up to 2 hours.
  4. Preheat your oven to 375°F.
  5. Roll dough into 1 1/4″ balls. Place a few inches apart on a cookie sheet.
  6. Dip a fork into granulated sugar, and flatten each cookie with a crisscross pattern.
  7. Bake 9-10 minutes or until the cookies are golden brown. Let the cookies cool for 5 minutes before removing them from the cookie sheet.
Recipe veganized from Betty Crocker 

For my first attempt at veganizing a cookie recipe, I would say this was successful. My sister, who is a vegan with much more experience with these things, said she loved these cookies. She did suggest using flax meal and water to substitute for the egg instead, though. I don’t think I quite made up for the amount of liquid an egg provides. So, if you’re looking for a chewier, moister peanut butter cookie, I might suggest adding more of whatever you decide to use as an egg substitute.

Until next time, bake with love!
5 comments

    1. Glad you think so! And agreed! I felt a bit like a mad scientist adding and mixing and experimenting. Thanks for stopping by the blog!

Leave a Reply

