Mud Pie

Okay, woah. It’s been far too long since we’ve posted a new recipe on this bad boy. Really sorry. Grad school is such a demanding hobby. Also, I think I stole your time with Hannah by making her go to dinner with me last week instead of letting her use that time to blog… I’m selfish. Really sorry again. I’ll try to be better.

Onward and upward.

Today, I’m taking you back. Like way, way back. All the way back to summer camp. Or preschool. Or kindergarten. Or really anytime when you may have made this. I don’t want to judge your life experiences. If you were late to the mud pie game, that’s cool. We’re all friends here, and what’s important is that you made it to the game eventually. 

Mud pie. Simple. Delicious. Fun. Awesome.

So this past Saturday was my friend Ronnie’s birthday. You may start sensing a theme here (i.e., Hannah and I bake for birthdays a lot).

Anyway, last weekend was his birthday, and as per usual with my friends, his baked good wish was my command. After some serious contemplation (This is a big decision. Obviously.), Ronnie said “Mud pie. Lotsa Oreos. Lotsa pudding. Lotsa worms.”

Oh, and also “I wanna eat it out of a bucket. With a shovel.” My friends are pretty cool. Clearly.

"In a bucket." Check. "With a shovel." Check.

On your birthday, you can get as old-school and as specific (demanding) as you like. It’s your birthday. You were born that day. You’ve lived another year. In my book, this means you get what you want.

Long story short, I made Ronnie some mud pie. With lotsa Oreos, lotsa pudding, and lotsa worms. In a bucket. With an attached shovel. I’m a really good friend. I know.

Mud Pie

Makes 2 servings (recipe is ridiculously easy to multiply, though)

Ingredients

For the Pudding

1/2 cup sugar

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

4 teaspoons corn starch

Pinch of salt

1 cup whole milk

1 oz bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For Assembly

Oreos

Gummy worms (the regular kind. Sour gummies would probably clash flavors a bit.)

Directions

  1. For the pudding- Whisk together the sugar, cocoa powder, cornstarch, and salt until all  the clumps are gone. Then, whisk in half of the milk until the mixture is smooth. Gradually whisk in the remaining milk.
  2. Heat the mixture over medium heat, whisking constantly, until the mixture comes to a boil. I tripled the recipe, so bringing this to a boil took awhile. When I only make the normal amount, though, this usually takes 7-10 minutes. Let it boil for one minute. Then remove from heat. Stir in the chocolate and vanilla extract til smooth.
  3. Transfer to a bowl and chill until the pudding is completely cool. This can take a few hours.
  4. Optional– I decided to make my pudding into more of a mousse and folded in about a cup of whipped cream. I just whipped up some whipping cream (Whip until stiff peaks form. Then stop! Or you’ll get butter…) and added it in increments until the pudding was the color and consistency I wanted. Not very scientific, I must admit.
  5. To Assemble the Mud Pies– Take your container of choice. A lot of times people make these in flower pots. Any semi-deep container will do, though. Crush Oreos and layer on the bottom of your container. Spoon chocolate pudding over the crushed Oreos. Place gummy worms over the pudding layer. Sprinkle with more crushed Oreos.
  6. The thickness of these layers is completely up to you. What’s kind of awesome about this dessert is that it’s really customizable. If you LOVE Oreos, make them half of your mud pie. If you’re all about chocolate pudding, then make the Oreo layer thin. Use whatever proportions make you happy. Me? I followed Ronnie’s instructions and had thick layers of everything.
Pudding recipe adapted from  Bon Appetit Desserts.  Mud pie recipe adapted from my childhood.

Next time I make this, I might try cutting the sugar in the pudding a little bit. By itself, it works. But the combination of Oreos plus pudding plus gummy worms can become overwhelmingly sweet. Even with that TINY suggestion, this was obviously delicious. Plus it’s a whole lot of fun to eat and takes you back to elementary school. While the bucket and shovel aren’t required, I would suggest seriously considering it. This is your chance to eat dessert with a shovel. Take it!

Lastly, thank you so much for all your great sign off suggestions! You made it really hard to make a decision. Can I just combine them all? Would that be too ridiculous? Yes? Okay, fine. I’ve come up with something that I might tweak a bit in my next few posts (making decisions is not a strength of mine) but with an overall vibe I’m digging. Inspired by you, wonderful readers:

“Party in your kitchen and always bake with love!”

One comment

Leave a Reply

