Giant Reese’s Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

I feel like it has been a million billion years since I wrote a post.  Like, however long it’s been since dinosaurs were around…that amount of time.

How long has that been, anyway?  I watched plenty of Bill Nye (the Science Guy!!!!!) as a child, but that little factoid is escaping me right now.

I’m sorry!  I have a good reason.  You see, once upon a time I went to college (no, who are we kidding, not that long ago).  I had this roommate freshman year.  I stalked her the summer before school…or at least I tried.  This lady did not have a facebook, so my stalking came to a halt very quickly.  But I thought for sure she must be some kind of weirdo alien.  I mean…do people not have facebooks?  No.  People do not not have facebooks.


(What this actually meant was that Sarah had better things to do with her time than sit at a computer all day.  Dur.)

Meanwhile, Sarah was stalking me.  She found an angsty, emo blog that I wrote in high school.  If you search extremely hard, it is probs still floating around the interwebs out there.  So while I thought Sarah was a weirdo, she thought I was emo and depressed and someone who wore only black and lots of eyeliner.  Truth: I am alarmingly bad at putting on eyeliner, and I don’t like to wear black unless required.

Also, in case you can’t tell from all the frosting and sprinkles, I’m not so emo.

Anyways, long story short, Sarah and I were both horrible at stalking, seeing as we were both dead wrong about each other.  Now we are the best of friends who like lots of the same things, like baking, eating mac and cheese, and Harry Potter.  Truly, these are the important things in life folks.

AND the reason I have been doing things other than blogging is that Sarah came to visit!  Me!  In Texas!  All the way from Boston!  This is a very long way to travel, and I am so glad that she did.  We did lots of fabulous, summer, Texas things.

We went to Ikea (where we ate mac and cheese, duh).  We went to a baseball game (Sarah’s first ever yo)


We went to a farmers market.  We went to the Forth Worth Stockyards and Billy Bob’s, so Sarah, like many northeasterners, could feel justified in thinking we all wear boots and hats and such.  (Let’s face it, I do love my boots.)

We went swimming,  We grilled!  We played with my puppies.  We chased my one puppy, Melvin, around the whole neighborhood.  We creeped around George Bush’s neighborhood.  We drank Purple Nurples out of mason jars and ate some Mexican food.


And we baked!  We baked brownies from a mix (don’t judge), these, and theeeese:


Sarah’s sister, Rachel (gotta keep things in the family here), actually found this Reese’s stuffed chocolate chip cookie recipe for us over at Kitchen Magpie.  Among the other important things in life, Sarah and I share a deep love for anything peanut butter, so this was an obvious baking choice for us.


Now, there are plenty of stuffed cookie recipes out there, with everything from Oreos to brownies.  This particular recipe was interesting because it claimed to be the “perfect” dough recipe.  They’re supposed to spread very little, so the cookie doesn’t collapse and reveal the secret Reese’s cup hiding inside.  Because let’s face it, Reese’s cups are even better when you don’t know they’re there.


While I have total faith in Kitchen Magpie’s ability to create cookies that don’t spread, I have less than total faith in our ability to do so.  We followed the recipe exactly, all the instructions exactly…even gave the dough some extra time to relax in the fridge.  But our cookies still spread 😦  They were giant!  Like, cookies as big as yo’ face!  And they totally gave away their Reese’s innards.


Oh well.  I’m not one to complain about giant cookies.  And the cookie part itself was ridiculously tasty and chewy.  I’ll probably even make the recipe again, just for chocolate chip cookies.  I suppose my personal, newly begun quest to make stuffed cookies that hide their surprise insides continues.  There are worse things. Like the fact that my new apartment has one giant ugly maroon wall.  Maroon does not go well with my new favorite decorating color, seafoam green.  Not.  Well.  At all.


Giant Reese’s Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes about 1 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup (= 1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
3/4 cup granulated sugar (we ended up with about 1/2 cup granulated and 1 cup brown…maybe that’s the culprit?)
2 large eggs
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (the original recipe calls for 2 cups, but we found that all the chips made the dough really hard to work with)
12 Reese’s peanut butter cups (regular size)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350ºF with racks in the upper-middle and lower-middle positions.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
2. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and both sugars until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Add the eggs one at a time, beating for 30 seconds after each addition.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and beat in the vanilla extract.
3. Beat in the salt and the baking powder.  Add the flour and mix on low speed just until the flour is incorporated.  Stir in the chocolate chips by hand.  Cover the bowl and chill the dough in the fridge for about 1 hour, or in the freezer for about 30 minutes.  You want to make the dough less sticky by chilling it, making it easier to work with.
4.  Unwrap the Reese’s cups.  Scoop about 2 TBS of the chilled dough, roll it into a ball, then flatten it slightly.  Place the Reese’s cup upside down on the dough (so the wider part of the cup is on the bottom…this is the bottom of the cookie).  Scoop out another 2 TBS-ish of dough and press it on top of the Reese’s, molding it around the sides of the peanut butter cup.  Seal the sides so no Reese’s leaks out!  Continue shaping the cookies, placing them about 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheets.
5.  Bake the cookies for about 15-17 minutes, switching the sheets top to bottom and rotating front to back about halfway through.  The cookies should be golden brown and the edges should be set when they’re done.  Don’t worry if the centers don’t look completely set; they’ll continue baking a little as they cool.  Let cookies cool completely on baking sheets.  Cookies will keep in an airtight container for 4 days.

Recipe adapted from Kitchen Magpie

If you make these (which you should), let me know how yours turn out.  I’d love to know if maybe it was just some other rando factor…the heat or the humidity…that affected our cookies!


Hopefully I get to go visit Sarah in Boston soon.  I’m probably the only person who would love to visit in the middle of January…I do in fact miss the snow, and 20 degree highs sound fabulous right about now.  Also, my snow boots will need to get some use, and they’re not gonna get it in Dallas.

Also!  I’m leaving for the beach today!  We’re driving to Seaside, FL (well, just outside Seaside) so starting tomorrow I’ll be a very sandy lady for a week, and I’m actually very happy about it.  I have some fab guest posts lined up for y’all, so make sure you check them out!  Thanks for reading (and visiting, Sarah!), and happy baking!

12 comments

  1. Dear FDL, I’m so glad you’re back (and you know what I mean).
    These cookies were wildly wicked delicious! Thank you for allowing me share in some of your fun doings. Looking forward to sharing an umbrella with you on the beach!!
    Love, Urmom

    1. I haven’t tried the Oreo ccc’s yet, but I plan to soon!!! Your blog name is adorable, totally applies to my life too. I’m heading over to check it out now! Thanks for commenting 🙂

  2. OH MY OH MY OH MY OH MY
    Reeses!

    I just broke down a month ago and made a cc cookie stuffed with an oreo.

    I thought that was bliss but my hubsters bday is soon and he’s a toll house cookie AND a reeses addict so I am way way way way way making him a batch
    yummy
    and wee hoo for a friend visit!

    1. I might be mistaken, but isn’t the point of diets to cheat on them? Maybs that’s why I’m so bad at them. Make mini versions! Mini choc chips, mini reese’s, mini cookies! I can’t vouch for them but…they’re bound to be skinniER than these, right?

  3. Purple nurples!!! That was fun 🙂 These cookies look delicious, and the spreading makes me wonder- have you had any success with baked brie?! I love bread and cheese but when I wrap the brie in the puffed pastry and stick it in the oven, it all melts and spreads! Turns into a bready, cheesy mess which is delicious but not pretty on an hors d’oeurves (sp?) table. Any hints?

    1. I have never in my life made baked brie, but I take any opportunity I can to eat it. From looking at recipes though, 2 thoughts: 1) make sure you leave the rind on the brie, that helps it keep it shape better, and 2) let it cool for at least 10-15 mins before trying to cut into it…it will still be warm but less likely to ooze everywhere. And i think it’s hors d’oeuvres 🙂

Leave a Reply

