Butterfinger & Snickers Rice Krispie Treats

I want to make sure that I’m not the only person this happens to:

I’m packing up all my stuff to move back to Dallas.  When I first started packing, everything went in these nicely labeled boxes.  Like one box had all pants and fall-weather shirts.  One box had all cookbooks (that was a mistake, it’s a crazy heavy box).  One box had all bathroom-y things in it.

I may or may not also have a box that is almost entirely full of cardigans.  Uhh…

Now, I’m on my 6th day of packing. (6 days because I usually pack for about 2 hours, then decide it’s time to rest, bake, read blogs, etc.)  And I can’t even label the few boxes I have left, because they’re all full of such rando ridiculousness, it’s not even funny.

this makes me happy.

I believe my most recent box has a bag of millet, some food coloring, a super-absorbent hair towel, a file/magazine type holder, a small teddy bear, and a textbook about international health.  I don’t even know if that qualifies for a “Misc.” label.  It needs something more forceful, like “A little organization never hurt anyone you crazy lady.”

Aside from the box full of cardigans, does this happen to other people?

Another thing: do other people sometimes mess up rice krispie treats?

Because I did.  I have no idea how.  I think I got lazy (too much packing, clearly) and didn’t mix enough?  I’m just always afraid of crunching up all the krispies.

Now you’re probs wondering why I’m sharing this recipe with you if I goofed them up.  Two reasons.  One, half of them came out fine, and two, I’ve made this exact recipe before and they were perfect.

I have faith in the recipe, and I have faith in you to be a better stirrer than me.

Butterfinger & Snickers Rice Krispie Treats

Makes 24 bars, one 13×9 inch pan

Ingredients:
6 cups Rice Krispie cereal
1 10.5-oz bag mini marshmallows
3 TBS butter (you can use salted if you want)
2/3 cup peanut butter
8 fun-size Butterfinger bars, coarsely chopped
3 or 4 Peanut Butter Snickers Squared bars (you want 6-8 squares total), coarsely chopped

Directions:
1. Spray a 13×9 inch pan with cooking spray and set aside.
2. Pour cereal into a large mixing bowl.  Add Butterfinger and Snickers and toss lightly to distribute the candy.  Set aside.
3. In a medium saucepan, combine marshamllows, butter, and peanut butter.  Heat over medium heat until the marshmallows are melted and the mixture is smooth.  Pour the peanut butter mixture over the cereal, stirring gently (but thoroughly!) to combine.  Transfer rice krispies to the prepared pan, pressing them evenly into the pan.  Let cool at least 45 minutes until set before slicing.

Recipe adapted from my head and the back of the marshmallow bag

I stuck half of my batch in the freezer.  We love cold treats!  Also, on an unrelated note, there are a few blogs out there participating in a $600 American Express gift card giveaway…one of them is one of my newly discovered favorites, Family Fresh Favorites.  Check it out here!  Thanks for reading, happy baking!

8 comments

  1. I HAVE made goofed up marshmallow krispy treats before. We still ate them. They weren’t stellar but we ate them.

    I would need a box just for cardigans. I would need a box just for random randomness.

    and as soon as I find myself with a box of rice krispy treats I will be crunching up candy bars to huck in there.

    you make me smile!
    have a great day!

    1. When I’m moving, I usually start out and end up just like you. I start out with labels and organization, then in last minute frenzy, I throw everything in boxes. Do you end up moving laundry baskets full of random items? Cuz at the very least you seem to manage to get all your stuff in boxes.

      1. You give me too much credit. Laundry baskets, reusable grocery bags, an empty (clean!) trash can…you name it, I packed something inside of it. 🙂 thanks for reading!!

  2. I give this recipe 4 starts, my waistline gives a thumbs down.
    I’m a “gluten” for punishment, Ill make them this weekend

    1. I hope they turn out wonderfully! Or at the very least…prettier than mine. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  3. Sooo sorry… it’s 7am here, and I NEVER up this early. Didn’t meant to leave a reply to the comment and can’t figure out how to remove it. :\

Leave a Reply

