Caramel-Swirl Symphony Blondies

One week from today, I will be in Vegas.

If all goes as planned, I will have a drink in my hand and I’ll already have won approximately $238,917.68. Off of slot machines only, because I’m too scared slash incapable to do anything else.

Is this unrealistic? Don’t burst my Vegas bubble!

Fine. I may have to settle for just the drink in my hand.

Now, I have thought of plenty of corny and horrible ways to transition to the blondie recipe I’m about to dish out:
1. You won’t just be settling for these blondies.
2. I’d gamble on these blondies any day!
3. What happens in my kitchen, mostly stays in my tummy.

No. These are awful. These suck. My AP Language teacher always said I had to work on my transitions.

Blondies!!!!!!!! On my blog. Then in your kitchen. Then in your face.

I found some Symphony bars at Target…they had toffee and almonds in them:

(Also they were on clearance. Don’t judge me. 88 cents yo!)

I thought I was being adventurous by breaking out of my blondie shell and adapting a new recipe, from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything. The recipe was sounding more and more familiar as I measured and mixed…and lo and behold, it was the same as my go-to favorite blondies from Smitten Kitchen. So much for being adventurous.


I did take things a little out of the box by swirling some caramel into the blondies before baking them. I don’t regret this decision one bit. I used some salted caramel left over from who knows what. I’ve fallen head over heels in love with salted caramel, so I don’t ask questions when I find it in my fridge.


Only one note: this recipe doesn’t call for baking powder, but since I was adding so much chocolate and caramel, I thought the blondies could use a little help puffing up. You can leave it out if you want, they’ll just be super dense (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing…with blondies it just means they’re chewier).

Caramel Swirl Symphony Blondies

Makes 24 blondies, one 13×9 inch pan (can easily be halved and baked in an 8-inch square pan)

Ingredients:
1 cup (= 2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted (recipe calls for softened, but I love the texture with melted)
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 large Symphony bars, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup caramel sauce (whatever is your favorite, I love homemade salted caramel)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F with a rack in the middle position. Line a 13×9 inch baking pan with foil and grease the foil.
2. In a large bowl, combine the melted butter with both sugars and mix with a rubber spatula until combined. Add eggs, vanilla, and almond extract and mix until incorporated. Add the salt and baking powder, and stir briefly to combine. Add the flour and stir gently until the flour is just incorporated. Fold in the chopped Symphony bars.
3. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and spread it evenly. Spoon the caramel evenly over the blondie batter, then drag a thin knife or a skewer through the caramel and batter to create a swirl effect. The chunks of chocolate will prevent this from looking perfect, but that’s totes okay.
4. Bake the blondies for about 25 to 30 minutes until golden brown and dry on top. The edges should just be beginning to darken…you don’t want to overbake them! Let blondies cool completely in pan on a wire rack, then lift them out by lifting up the foil lining. Place on a cutting surface and slice the blondies. Blondies will keep, covered, at room temperature for 3 days. (You can probs wrap them tight and freeze them too, but I haven’t tried that yet.)

Recipe adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything

Anyone have any Vegas tips for me? When I come back a millionaire I’ll share my winnings with you. Thanks for reading, happy baking!

2 comments

  1. Bloody hell women! Im literally drooling here! I need some right now!
    P.s. Good luck at vegas! x

Leave a Reply

