Summer is here!

I live in Texas, and this means I have a love-hate relationship with summer.

On the one hand, I LOVE summer.  I love my freckles.  I love being (kind of) tan.  I love feeling like a responsible adult when I reapply my sunscreen after swimming.

I love Texas peaches – picking them, smelling them, eating them.  And corn.

Picking peaches in Dean, Texas

I love Route 44 Diet Cherry Limeades from Sonic.  Going to the drive-in movie theater.  Swimming pools (the color of pool water happens to be my favorite color).  Blasting the air conditioner and taking a nap.  Spending time at the Dallas Farmers Market, getting so hot and sweaty that I think I’m going to die, then experiencing the relief that comes from drinking/eating something frozen.

However.  If you’ve ever been to Texas during the summer, you’ll also understand why summer can be…well…difficult.

Every time I get in my car, which happens to have leather seats, I’m fairly certain I burn off a layer or two of skin on my legs.  There is almost no point to taking a shower…in 5 minutes, you’ll probs be sweaty again.  If you want to do anything outside that doesn’t involve a pool – from playing golf to going for a run – it must be done before 7am, while the temperature is still below 95.

It will take a few weeks for the summer excitement to wear off though.  This weekend, we went to the farmers market, spent the day at a water park, then ate a whole pan-ful of summer for dins.


This isn’t a complicated recipe or anything, so if you just want to look at the pictures, that would be ok.  Pretty much you go to a farmers market, or your garden.  (And if you’re just going outside to your garden, I’m jealous, and we should be friends.)  You get some nice looking veggies.  I chose the biggest zucchini EVER, tomatoes, onions, and white corn.


Then you slice them.  Layer them in a baking dish.  Drizzle on some olive oil, toss in some garlic cloves, sprinkle on some salt and pepper, and bake it all off.


I almost feel guilty typing up a recipe and passing it off as a blog post.

Roasted Summer Vegetables

Ingredients:
1 small onion
3 normal sized zucchinis or 1 gigantic one
3 medium tomatoes
4 peeled garlic cloves
2 ears corn, white or yellow, kernels shaved off the cob
4 TBS extra-virgin olive oil
salt and pepper

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350ºF with a rack in the middle position>
2. Slice onion, zucchini, and tomatoes into thick slices.  Smash garlic cloves or slice them all in half.  Drizzle 2 TBS olive oil over the bottom of a medium baking dish, ceramic or glass.  Layer vegetable slices and scatter garlic cloves throughout.  The order really doesn’t matter.  Drizzle remaining olive oil over the top of the vegetables, then sprinkle on salt and pepper.  Bake for about 1 hour, pressing down vegetables with a spatula occasionally, until vegetables are juicy and tender.
3. You can eat them on their own, with some crusty bread and a salad.  Or you roughly chop the roasted vegetables and toss with cooked pasta and parmesan cheese.  Also if I had some fresh basil, I would have tossed it with the roasted vegetables.

Inspired by summer 🙂

I don't have any pictures of the finished product. We ate it too quickly.

Use whatever vegetables you like!  The point is to make an effortless dinner and enjoy the fact that it’s summer.  Thanks for reading!

One comment

Leave a Reply

