PB&J Chocolate Hearts

Loves.  There are 40 minutes left in Valentine’s Day here in Texas.  (Lucky ducks on the west coast have 2 hours and 40 minutes left!!!!)  I have an extremely, life-threateningly important question for you, and I have 40 minutes left to ask it.  Are you ready?  You may want to sit down for this one.

Will you be my Valentine?

Please?

See, I would have asked earlier, but I’ve just been so nervous to ask you.  All day I’ve been just gathering up the courage to ask you that one simple question.

I hope you’ll say yes.

There’s something in it for you.  Other than my undying love, that is.  There’s these chocolate hearts.  And they’re filled with some peanut butter.  And some jam.  Raspberry jam if that makes any difference to you.

If you want to be my Valentine, you can have one.  Or two.  Or nine.  If you say no…I’ll just have to eat them all by myself and likely get chocolate all over mah face.  Attractive.  That would just be an upsetting end to a long day full of watching other people be on Valentine’s dates and helping awkward boyfriends and husbands pick out lingerie Valentine’s gifts.  (Doesn’t that sound like an interesting combo?  That’s just how I roll.  By that I mean I work as a hostess and at Victoria’s Secret.)

So whaddya think?  Want to date?  I watch a lot of Family Guy.  I appreciate a tall Diet Coke and a crispy grilled cheese.  I currently have a pile of about 5 cookbooks, all open to various pages, sitting next to me on the couch.  No biggie.

Ok so the chocolates.  I used a silicone heart mold, you know, what with it being Valentine’s Day still and all.  They could just as easily be made in another shape of silicone mold…or in foil mini muffin cups.  The peanut butter filling isn’t stiff like a Reese’s cup.  It’s pretty gooey.  You could probably make it stiffer by adding more powdered sugar, but I didn’t want it to be too sweet.  Besides, gooey is kind of nice.  Means it’s finger-lickin’ good.  These aren’t fancy pants chocolates, btdubs.  There are things you could do like tempering the chocolate to make sure it’s super smooth and shiny.  But I decided firmly against that.  These are homemade, and they look homemade.  But that’s ok with me.  If you want perfect (and not as tasty) chocolates you can buy some (tomorrow, on sale).  I used a mixture of semisweet and bittersweet (60%) chocolate, but you could sub in any kind you like…something darker perhaps?  Or maybe you’re a milk chocolate fan.  You should make what you like.  Love yourself. On Valentine’s Day…and every day!

PB&J Chocolate Hearts (slash really any shape)

Makes about 2 dozen chocolates

Ingredients:
1 cup chocolate chips or chopped chocolate (like I said, I used half bittersweet and half semisweet)
3/4 cup peanut butter (I used creamy, but you could use crunchy too for some fun texture)
1/3 cup powdered sugar
1/2 tsp salt
about 3 TBS-ish jam, whatever flavor you prefer

Directions:
1.  In a microwave-safe bowl, melt chocolate in 45-second intervals at 50% powder, stirring between intervals until smooth and melted.  Now, there are two options for making the chocolate shells:

  • option A (what I did) – you can fill the silicone molds or muffin cups with melted chocolate and pour out the excess.  This might be a little messier, but it’s less tedious than…
  • option B – you can pour a little chocolate in the molds and use a very clean, small brush to “paint” the sides of the molds/muffin cups, painting all the way to the top

2.  Chill the chocolate shells until firm and set, about 20 minutes.  Meanwhile, mix together peanut butter, powdered sugar, and salt in a small bowl until thoroughly combined.  When the chocolate shells are set, fill each about 3/4 full with the peanut butter mixture.  (This can either be done with a small spoon or by piping the mixture out of a pastry bag.)  Top each filled shell with a little bit (probably about 1/4 tsp) of jam.  Chill filled shells until set, about 30 minutes.
3.  If necessary, re-melt chocolate.  Cover the top of each filled shell with melted chocolate (probably easiest to just spoon it on) and smooth the tops (really the bottoms of the chocolates if you’re using a silicone mold).  Chill again until set, about 15 minutes.  When ready, just pop the chocolates out of the silicone mold…or unwrap them from the muffin liners if you want.  Share, or don’t.  Up to you really.

Recipe adapted from my head

Hope everyone has had a lovely day!  I’d love to hear about all the treats you made.  Tomorrow we’ll get back to non heart-shaped, not red or pink colored baked goods.  Maybs.  I do like hearts, as well as the color pink.

Thanks for reading, happy baking/candy making!

2 comments

  1. “So whaddya think? Want to date? I watch a lot of Family Guy. I appreciate a tall Diet Coke and a crispy grilled cheese. I currently have a pile of about 5 cookbooks, all open to various pages, sitting next to me on the couch. No biggie.”

    Swap the diet coke for a diet mountain dew and we are pretty much the same person. I literally have five (EXACTLY) cookbooks on the couch right now. SO happy I found your blog lady ❤

    1. haha diet coke and cookbooks basically make up my life. i’m glad you like the blog! thanks so much for reading and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

