Banana Bread Pancakes

Yesterday when I came home from work early (more snow), there was a sleepy weatherman in my bed.  By sleepy I mean passed out.  You see, he had been out in the snow all night, doing live shots for his TV station.  I sometimes wonder why he does this, but I’m sure he wonders why I do a lot of things, like why I freak out if my sleeves get a tiny bit bunched up inside my jacket.  Sometimes it’s best to just let these things go.

I realized a sleepy weatherman would soon turn into a hungry weatherman, so I made him some pancakes.  I know.  I’m just nice like that, on occasion.  I also wanted to do something nice for him so maybs he would come play in the snow with me later.  A bribe of sorts.  It worked.

What was that?  You want me to come make pancakes for you?  Oh well, I – we hardly know each other, I mean…pancakes?  That’s a pretty big step in our relationship.  Not sure if I’m ready for that.  But…well…ok.  Don’t tell anyone though, I don’t want everyone thinking I just go around making pancakes for whomever.  Here you go:

Banana Bread Pancakes

Makes 4-6 servings, about 18 pancakes

Ingredients:
3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 TBS light brown sugar
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 cups plain yogurt
3 eggs
1/4 cup milk
2 TBS melted butter, cooled
1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (about 2 medium bananas, really ripe ones)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:
1.  If you’re cooking the pancakes right away, begin to heat 2 tsp of butter or neutral oil (i.e. corn or canola) in a large skillet or griddle over medium-low heat.
2.  In a large bowl, whisk together both flours, baking soda, salt, brown sugar, and cinnamon.  Make a well in the center and set aside.
3.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the yogurt, eggs, and milk.  Whisk in the cooled melted butter and the vanilla, then add the mashed banana and stir to combine.
4.  Add the yogurt mixture to the well in the dry ingredients.  Stir very gently just until combined…the batter will be lumpy.  Lumpy batter is ok.  (At this point, the batter can be stored, covered in the refrigerator for up to 2 days.  You can have fresh pancakes tomorrow too!)
5.  Check the pan to see if it’s hot enough by splashing a little water on it…the water should dance across the skillet.  (I really love this idea of your ingredients dancing around.)  If it is, pour pancake batter by 1/4 cups into the pan, leaving enough space between pancakes for easy flippage.  Let pancakes cook for 2-4 minutes.  When the edges have started to set and there are bubbles in the middle of the pancake, it’s time!  Flip away.

Let pancakes cook on the other side for 2ish minutes, until browned.  Serve hot with butter, syrup, peanut butter, NUTELLA.  Whatever you like!  (Pancakes can also be kept warm in a low oven, 200ºF, on an ovenproof plate.)

*Optional mix-ins, to be scattered across the surface of the pancake when you first pour it in the pan: chocolate chips, toasted and chopped walnuts or pecans, blueberries, sliced strawberries, more sliced banana.  Get creative and customize those pancakes!

Warning – this is what happens when you give pancakes to a boy and tell him to put whatever he wants on them:

Go make pancakes for someone, either just to be nice or as a bribe.  Or just make them for yourself.  That’s equally acceptable.  Happy baking and breakfast-ing!

6 comments

  1. basically stalking you, but can’t get enough of the delicious food! pancakes and cinnamon bread definitely on the agenda for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

