When life gives you a snow day, bake!

Well…you have to start somewhere, right?  Might as well be here, with a killer recipe for Compost Cookies.  Sounds kind of icky, doesn’t it?  That’s where you’re wrong.  But more on that later.

First, why today is the perfect day to write my first post:

1. Today, February 1st, was a snow day in Wichita Falls, TX.

My first snow day as a working adult!  I’ve been lazing around the apartment all day, since the roads are covered in 1/2″ of ice and about 6″ of snow.  Here in Texas, we don’t really believe in having enough trucks to treat the roads during bitter winter storms.  Even though the same thing (though worse) happened last year.  Here.  Anyway, I didn’t have to go to job #1 today because the restaurant where I work as a hostess couldn’t open.  And is there anything better to do on a snow day than bake?!?!!?  I thought not.

2. I had already set today in my mind as the first day I would be baking post-cleanse/detox, i.e. for the first time in 2 weeks.  Now wait.  Before you get the wrong idea here, I’m not a crazy cleansing person.  I’m a crazy cookie dough-eating person.  But I found this plan, called the 28-Day Challenge in Whole Living Magazine.  I thought, before I call all cleanses crazy, maybe I should try this one out.  I did.  It’s kind of awesome.  I did the couple of weeks where I wasn’t supposed to eat all these things (all of which are actually present in the cookies I made today), and today, I baked up these little beauties.  No regrets.

3. Carpe diem!  Seize the day!  Conquer the blank page!  Also I was tired of Will and Grace re-runs.

So now, I present to you my rendition of the apparently famous Momofuku Milk Bar Compost Cookies.  That’s a lot of words, all of which basically mean deliciousness.  There is this restaurant – to which I’ve never been – in NYC called Momofuku Milk Bar, where pastry chef Christina Tosi creates crazy awesome things like Blueberry and Cream Cookies, Crack Pie, and these Compost Cookies.  If you can bake something addictive enough to be called Crack Pie, then I trust your taste in baking.  Her version of Compost Cookies contains pretzels, chips, coffee, butterscotch, oats, and chocolate chips.  This version will leave some room to improvise, although I strongly recommend always including potato chips!

One more note, and then I’ll just get to the point already.  The version of the recipe I was following called for lots of beating with a stand or hand mixer.  But of course, my hand mixer started glowing red and smelling like burning rubber the second I turned it on.  (One reason today was not the perfect day to write my first post…)  I did a lot of beating by hand, and I’d like to think I achieved some of the same results…although I probably got a few less cookies out of mine than I would have otherwise.  I’ll post the recipe as I made it, with a link to the original.

Momofuku Milk Bar’s Compost Cookies

Makes about 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 whole eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp kosher salt
1 1/2 cups of your favorite baking goodies (I used 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips, 1/2 cup peanut butter chips, and 1/2 cup chopped Pay Day bars…but the possibilities are endless)
1 1/2 cups of your favorite snacking goodies, crushed (I used 3/4 cup crushed pretzels and 3/4 cup potato chips)

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and both sugars until fluffy (with a mixer if you can, or not if you want an arm workout).
2. Add both eggs and the vanilla extract.  Beat until well-combined and pale, about 8-10 minutes.
3. Add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Beat until JUST combined (on low speed if using a mixer)…don’t overmix at this point!  Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula to ensure that all dry ingredients are incorporated.
4. Add your baking goodies and mix just until incorporated.
5. Add your snacking goodies and mix again, just until evenly distributed.

6. Line baking sheets with parchment paper or grease.  Using a cookie scoop, a small ice cream scoop, or just two spoons, drop cookie dough onto prepared sheets in 1 1/2″ – 2″ balls.  We don’t want any sissy cookies here.  Make sure cookies are spaced about 2″ apart.  Cover sheets with plastic wrap and refrigerate the dough until firm, no less than 1 hour and up to a few days.  (Since it was roughly 14 degrees outside, I just put them on the porch for a little while rather than try to make room in the fridge.)  This step is key, otherwise your cookies won’t hold their shape in the oven.
7. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400°F, with racks in the top and bottom thirds of the oven.  Bake cookies 8-10 minutes, switching racks and rotating pans halfway through baking time.  Let cookies cook on pans set on cooling racks.  Cookies will keep 4-5 days (yeah right) sealed in an airtight container.

Recipe adapted from The Amateur Gourmet.

Thanks for reading!  I’d love to hear your thoughts.  Happy baking!

9 comments

  1. Congratulations on your first blog! I can imagine how wonderful the cookies are because I’ve been a beneficiary of your baking talents for years. Enjoy the cookies, the blog and your free time! Love, Your Mom

  2. WOW, looks like you were busy in your snow day. Can’t wait to taste these cookies and to see how the blog grows. Great Job! Love, Dad

  3. The aroma of that bread has wafted to Dallas. I love cinnamon and enjoy reading your blog. Look forward to tasting some day, but too intimidated to follow that recipe. Jake is still waiting for a Challah from me.

Leave a Reply

