Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Devil’s Food Cake with Strawberry Buttercream

I’ve realized important two things.

First, I don’t eat enough bagels.  From a health standpoint, I’m sure I eat enough bagels.  There’s probably not a daily recommended allowance of bagels, although there should be, and it should be 5.  When I got home from the hospital Sunday morning, I stood in front of my fridge for far too long, trying to figure out why I didn’t want to eat anything that was inside (aside from the fact that there’s basically just eggs and string cheese in there). 

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I realized it was because I only wanted all the pumpernickel bagels and cream cheese.  Which were not in my fridge, or even anywhere close by.  I thought briefly about driving to Einstein’s.  But then, for the first time in my life I think, I prioritized sleep over food.  24+ hour call every 3rd day is messing up my entire life approach.

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

I went to sleep and dreamed (just tried to type “dreamt,” if we’re being honest here) about taking out people’s appendixes (appendices?), which is WEIRD, because really I wouldn’t have minded just dreaming about some dang bagels.

Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset

Second, I don’t know how to dress myself anymore.  I even have to wear something other than scrubs to work like twice a week?  And I go out into the world and do things in public in real clothes a reasonable number of times every week.  But it is just ridiculous and embarrassing how long it takes me to pick out my clothes.  Most days I wish my life were like Doug, and I could just open my closet and see the same outfit everywhere and not be forced to make any decisions until at LEAST lunchtime.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

(Note: this is not due to a typical “but I don’t have anything to wear” viewpoint, although I may or may not have filled a virtual shopping cart with new clothes on the j crew factory website.  (it’s all 50% OFF Y’ALL.)  This is due to sheer lack of skill and debilitating indecisiveness.)

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Anyways.  These are the main issues I’m dealing with on a day to day basis.  Bagels and clothes.  Really pressing stuff.  In other news, did y’all know that Ukraine elected a CHOCOLATE TYCOON as president??!?!  Seriously.  WHAT are we doing with our lives America??  Why have we not done this yet?  Clearly we are behind the times, and I have a feeling people would be a LOT happier if we all got free chocolate delivered everyday, as this is what I imagine will start happening in Ukraine.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Speaking of chocolate (sometimes I really impress myself with these transitions), I made a random handwritten recipe for Devil’s Food Cake that I found inside of an even more random cookbook my mom found at a garage sale.  Risky business, I know.  Fortunately, it turned out amazing.  So amazing in fact, that I made it twice in 1 week.  I decided to cover it with my favorite fresh strawberry buttercream recipe…because delicious.  The recipe makes a 2 layer cake, but I easily halved it the 2nd time to make a 1 layer.  I think a full recipe would make a nice sheet cake or 13×9…perfect for bringing to all those summer picnics and parties I know you people are invited to!

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

Devil’s Food Cake with Strawberry Buttercream

Makes 2 9-inch round layers.  Buttercream makes enough to frost double-layer cake.

Ingredients:
For cake
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1/2 cup (= 1 stick) unsalted butter, room temp
2 large eggs
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup sour cream (the recipe says you can use buttermilk, but I haven’t tested it that way yet)
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup boiling water
1 cup mini chocolate chips (optional)

1 recipe My Baking Addiction’s fresh strawberry buttercream

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F with rack in middle position.  Butter 2 9-inch round pans, and line the bottom with parchment paper rounds.  Butter the parchment.  Dust the pans with cocoa powder, shaking out any excess.
2. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter and sugar on medium-high speed for 2 minutes.  Beat in the eggs on medium speed.  Beat in the vanilla extract.
3. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, cocoa, and salt.
4. Add about 1/3 of the flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix on low.  Add half of the sour cream, mixing well.  Continue alternating with the flour mixture and sour cream.  Mix in the chocolate chips, if using.
5. Add the boiling water to the batter all at once, and mix on medium-low speed.  Be sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula, and mix again so the batter is even.  Evenly distribute the batter between the 2 prepared pans.
6. Bake cakes for 40-50 minutes, or until the middle of the cake springs back when lightly pressed.  Allow to cool in pans on wire racks for 15 minutes, then turn cakes out of pans.  let cool completely on wire racks.
7.  While cakes are cooling, make the frosting.  Frost cake as desired when they are completely cool.  Cake will keep, tightly covered and refrigerated, for 3 days.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

2 comments

    1. Thanks! This buttercream is one of my favorite recipes…perfect with summer coming up. Thanks for reading! ~ H

Leave a Reply

