Peanut Butter Cupcakes

14 Feb

There are a LOT of things on my to-do list and practically none of them involve studying.  (By practically none I mean…one of them is studying.)

I need to paint my nails in the spirit of Valentine’s Day.  I spent >30 minutes at CVS tonight choosing the PERFECT sparkly pink nail polish.  Also buying new mascara (other tube only has 75% left, clearly need more) and trying not to buy candy because obvi it will be on sale in 2 days.

pb cupcakes 1
I need to figure out what the HECK to do with my spring break.  What I want to do is go to an exotic beach but no one wants to go with me.  Plus that costs money, and I don’t like spending money, as evidenced by me buying only the most basic necessities at CVS.

Should also determine what to do with the entire bag of red velvet M&Ms that I bought because they are gross.  Throw them away is the answer, I think.  I would feel bad baking them into something for other humans to eat.

pb cupcakes 3

Need to shop at Victoria’s Secret.  They are truly marketing geniuses at that place.  First, they sent me a brand new credit card, which apparently makes me a better angel than I used to be.  Then, they sent 2 rewards certificates.  THEN they told me that Secret Rewards cards (like playing Victoria’s Secret lottery) are starting this weekend.  How could I not go?  Plus I heard if you buy stuff there you’ll look like Candice.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I’m getting stressed out just thinking about this stuff.  Unrelated…I am 1 year and 4 months away from getting my MD.  And I STILL have no idea how it’s at all possible that my nose has been producing SO much stuff for SO long now with no signs of slowing down.  What a waste of tuition money.

Although.  Not such a waste.  I did a cool thing today!  I diagnosed a kid with appendicitis and said, “GO TO THE ER STAT!”…in a very calm manner.  Then I said something in public about how cool and satisfying it was to diagnose appendicitis, which I think might come off as insensitive.  What I meant was…this kid is going to be ok because his mom brought him to the doctor and my resident and I figured out what’s wrong with him.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

One more thing before cupcakes.  HOUSE OF CARDS IS BACK TOMORROW.  I can’t watch until next weekend, but I can already tell that I’m 100% obsessed with season 2.  Watching Kevin Spacey ruin lives is my favorite pastime.

Now.  I made some cupcakes.   They are maximally peanut buttery and fantastic.   The obvious choice is to top them off with chocolate frosting…so I did that.  Sorry/notsorry I’m predictable…they’re delicious.  Also decidedly not sorry that I dumped alllll the Valentine’s sprinkles on them.

pb cupcakes 2

Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

(Note: I’ve made PB cupcakes before, but this is a different recipe!  I think these have more peanut butter flavor, but the other ones have PB chips!)

Makes 12 cupcakes

Ingredients:
For cupcakes
1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup milk

For frosting
1 1/4 cup powdered sugar
6 TBS unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup dark chocolate chips, melted
3-4 TBS milk

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F with a rack in the middle position.  Line muffin pan with cupcake liners and set aside.
2. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the 1 stick butter, peanut butter, and sugar on medium-high speed until fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Beat in the eggs one at a time.  Beat in the vanilla.
3. In a small bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, and salt.
4. Add half the flour mixture to the butter mixture and beat on low speed until just combined.  Add the milk and mix.  Add the remaining flour and beat until combined.
5. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups (they’ll be at least 3/4 full and this is ok).  Bake for about 25 minutes, until the tops are dry and the cupcakes spring back when lightly pressed.  Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then remove cupcakes and cool completely on wire rack.
6. Meanwhile, make the frosting.  In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together the butter and powdered sugar until combined (it won’t look fluffy yet).  Add the melted chocolate and beat on medium speed for about 2 minutes.  Add the milk and beat on medium-high speed until well combined and fluffy.
7.  Frost the cupcakes once they’re completely cooled.  Cupcakes will keep stored at room temp for 2 days.

Recipe for cupcakes adapted from All Recipes

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Thanks for reading, happy baking and happy Valentine’s Day!

One Response to “Peanut Butter Cupcakes”

  1. Flashback/Backslide 28 February 2014 at 9:08 pm #

    Great post! I used this recipe and the cupcakes tasted amazing! Thanks so much. Keep us posted on what you do for break. I heard whale watching in the Pacific Northwest is the thing to do at that time of year. That’s not really an exotic beach but just a thought.
    -Paul

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 770 other followers

