Pumpkin Nutella Chess Pie

8 Nov

Apparently we now only eat things with pumpkin in them here.  Has pumpkin fatigue set in yet?  Is that a thing?

Also apparently it is in fact true that I will eat anything with nutella in it.  I don’t even usually like pumpkin pie (sorry/not sorry).  But once I decided to add nutella?  Yes.  Will eat.  No question.Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Unrelated news #3 – yesterday a patient told me that he loved my boots, and that I deserve for someone to build me a Carrie Bradshaw-worthy shoe closet.  (I own like, 7 pairs of shoes (ok more but still not enough to fill up one of those closets.))  I said yes, that would be fine, as long as someone would also give me money to stock the closet with MORE amazing boots.  Because boots are the only kind of shoes I want to wear.  Why do they have to cost so.much.money?

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Speaking of money.  Can someone just step in and stop me from spending it on skincare and nail polish (which I don’t even have time to put on) and tacos and sweaters that are back-ordered until December?  It seems easy enough to do.  There’s only a narrow-ish window of time each day when I’m even out in the world long enough to actually spend money.  But I’m pretty good at finding ways to do it.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Anyways.  (This blog is hiring someone to keep us on track and focused on one topic per post.)  I made this pie instead of a regular pumpkin pie.  I had this vision in my head of how the pumpkin and nutella fillings would just swirl together in this amazing way, and then science happened.  Apparently pumpkin filling and nutella filling have different densities, and they don’t swirl.  They just kind of mix and layer and sink.  Regardless.  I liked this pie and even some other people did too.  I LOVE my new pie plate.  I’ve been trying to think of ways to eat all foods out of it, but so far I think just pie is going to work.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Pumpkin Nutella Chess Pie

Ingredients:
For pie crust
1 batch Martha Stewart pate brisee (you’ll have some leftover dough)

For filling
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
2 TBS unbleached all-purpose flour
5 large eggs
2/3 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla extract
2/3 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2/3 cup nutella

Directions:
1. Make pie dough.  You’ll probably want about 2/3 of the dough for the crust in this pie, so divide accordingly.  After you’ve let the dough chill in the fridge for a couple of hours, preheat the oven to 450F with a rack in the middle position.  Roll out the crust to fit a 10-inch pie plate (should be less than 1/4″ thick).  To transfer the crust to the pie plate, you can gently fold the crust in half or in quarters, then unfold it in the pie dish.  Trim the overhang and fold/crimp the edges however you want.
2. Place a sheet of parchment paper over the unbaked crust, then place pie weights (you can use dried beans) on top of the parchment paper.  Bake the crust for 18-22 minutes, until the edges are starting to turn golden brown.
3. While the crust is baking, prepare the filling.  In a large bowl, stir together the sugar and the flour.  Whisk in the eggs and the buttermilk until completely blended and smooth.  Whisk in the vanilla.
4. Pour about half of the filling mixture into a medium bowl.  Whisk the pumpkin puree and the cinnamon into one bowl of filling.  Whisk the nutella into the other half of the filling.
5. When the pie crust is finished pre-baking, allow it to cool for 5 minutes.  Remove the parchment paper and the pie weights, and turn the oven temp down to 350F.  Move an oven rack to the 2nd lowest position.
6. Pour the pumpkin filling into the pie crust, followed by the nutella filling.  Swirl the two mixtures together with a knife to ensure even distribution.  Bake the pie for 45-50 minutes, until the top feels dry and all but the center of the pie looks set.  (You can cover the edges of the crust with foil or a pie ring if they start to brown too quickly.)  Let the pie cool completely on a wire rack.  Refrigerate the pie until ready to serve.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Recipe adapted from All Recipes

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

3 Responses to “Pumpkin Nutella Chess Pie”

  1. Charisma 8 November 2013 at 8:38 am #

    This looks delicious!

  2. Tom Sarma 12 November 2013 at 7:39 pm #

    Dear author:

    Please accept my congratulations on your tremendously successful blog! Your recipes, and free-flowing writing, remind me of a Kerouac novel – no particular theme or direction but delicious, nonetheless.

    In any event, some of my intimate acquaintances were privy to the experience that is your chest pie. I, unfortunately, missed out on this life-altering experience.

    Perhaps, I can convince you to re-create the magic of the chess pie once again?

    Name your price. I will be waiting in the 1E rounding room on Friday am.

    Cheers,
    Tom

  3. erika 21 November 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    Omgosh this is like EXACTLY what I was looking for. A pumpkin chess pie with chocolate! Except I’m wondering–what makes this a chess pie if the filling doesn’t have any butter? An absurd amount of butter seemed to be the hallmark of most other chess pies. If this is just a healthy version, I’m ALL OVER IT! Your blog is adorable.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers

