Cinnamon Streusel Muffins with Pumpkin Butter

29 Oct

So. I do this thing that is really weird.

Like, tell me something I don’t know, Kate.

But for real I do. In fact, this might be the weirdest thing I do…

I lie to strangers about really insignificant things.

Like, all the time, actually.

And I have no idea why.

IMG_20131027_203855

The first time I realized I did it, I was in college. It was my senior year. It was a Saturday night. I walked to the 7/11 by my house at like 10pm and bought myself a Michelob Ultra tall boy (dude, I know). As I was checking out, the cashier asked me if Michelob Ultra was any good. And instead of answering him like a normal person and saying “yeah sure it’s okay” or “it’s as good as any other light beer” I said: “Oh… I don’t know… I’ve never had it. Iboughtitformyfriendbyeeeee.”

What? There is no good reason to decide to say what I said there. Would the truth hurt his feelings? No. Would he judge me for my answer? No, probably not. Also, does that really matter? No, definitely not.

But I lied anyway and made the situation approximately 300x more awkward. Give or take. If I were to guess.

IMG_20131027_205957

And apparently that opened the floodgates. Because I catch myself doing it all the time now. But only about small things and only to strangers (because I have some respect for others (and the truth). Duh).

Like a month ago? The woman painting my nails (my manicurist? Is that a thing?) asked me if I had been to the State Fair of Texas yet this year.

I hadn’t. I said I had.

She asked if we ate a turkey leg. I said no.

She asked what we ate instead. I said a corny dog and a funnel cake. And a fried peanut butter and jelly sandwich (which is a real thing (!!) and, in my defense, we actually did eat when we went (three weeks later)).

IMG_20131027_210118

Seriously, you guys. What is wrong with me?!?!

Last week at Trader Joe’s the cashier asked me if I had eaten persimmons before.

The real answer? No. The answer I gave her? Yes I love them they are my favorite fruit and I can’t believe that other people haven’t tried them.

I am a monster. Someone stop me before this gets out of hand (too late already is).

IMG_20131027_212857

Don’t worry, though. We already know each other so you can trust me about this pumpkin butter muffin situation. I promise.

Cinnamon Streusel Muffins with Pumpkin Butter

Makes 6 muffins

Ingredients

Muffins

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup milk
1 egg, lightly beaten
3 tablespoons butter, melted

1/3 cup pumpkin butter (I used Trader Joe’s PB, but any kind will work!)

Topping

1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 tbsp brown sugar
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
2 tbsp butter , softened

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line or grease your muffin tins.
  2. Make your topping by mixing flour, sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a small bowl. Mix in the softened butter (with a fork or your hands or whatever you prefer) until you have pieces the size of peas. Set aside.
  3. Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl. Whisk together milk, egg, and melted butter in a small bowl. Pour wet into dry and mix until just combined. Seriously, you don’t want to over-mix or you’ll end up with bricks for muffins (boo).
  4. Put about 1- 1 1/2 tbsp batter in each muffin cup (enough to fill them about halfway). Drop 1ish tbsp of pumpkin butter in each muffin cup. I tried to keep it close to the middle so that the muffin batter could bake around/contain it a bit. But that’s not super important. They’ll be yummy no matter what. Take a toothpick and drag it through the pumpkin butter to swirl it into the batter a bit.
  5. Top with remaining muffin batter. Sprinkle topping over each muffin. Use all of it.
  6. Bake for 16-18 minutes or until tops are set and golden brown. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Then move to wire rack to cool completely.

Recipe adapted from Wilton.

IMG_20131029_211454

Bake with love!

6 Responses to “Cinnamon Streusel Muffins with Pumpkin Butter”

  1. Living Vintage 29 October 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    Cracking up, I have definitely done the same before. I told someone I had a cat once. I think I just really wish it were true!

    • FleurDeLicious 30 October 2013 at 9:24 am #

      This habit must run in the family ;)
      -k

  2. Me 30 October 2013 at 6:14 am #

    These look delicious, Kate!

    • FleurDeLicious 30 October 2013 at 6:35 pm #

      Thank you!! The Accountant has been loving them.
      -k

  3. Meredith Elkins 30 October 2013 at 9:05 am #

    After all these years, turns out you’re a psycho and I never knew it (see eg SUNDAY). But I’ve always known you were a great baker! xox

    • FleurDeLicious 30 October 2013 at 9:11 am #

      Super sweet of you to say, Roomz!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers

